If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.

This week's UK kindle deals!

Hi, folks!
You know what's today daily deal on kindle UK? This little beauty!

Summary

The same questions whirl round and round in my head:
What does he want from me?
How could I have let this happen?
AM I GOING TO DIE?


17-year-old Grace wakes up in a white room, with a table, pens and paper - and no clue how she got here.


As Grace pours her tangled life onto the page, she is forced to remember everything she's tried to forget. There's falling hopelessly in love with the gorgeous Nat, and the unravelling of her relationship with her best friend Sal. But there's something missing.


Grace must face the most important question of all.

Why is she here? 


£. 0.99
(until 11.59 PM Saturday)

____________________________________________

Here are some spring bargains I found...













There are some absolutely awesome buys here like Poison Study and Stray. If you haven't read them yet, grab them while you can.


Ciao!


UPD: Just saw this on sale until Tuesday!


£ 1.94

Courting Darkness by Yasmine Galenorn REVIEW

Courting Darkness by Yasmine Galenorn (Otherworld/Sisters of The Moon #10)

bought


Synopsis from Goodreads
We're the D'Artigo sisters: sexy, savvy ex-operatives for the Otherworld Intelligence Agency. But being half-human, half-Fae means our powers go haywire at all the wrong times. My sister Delilah is a Death Maiden and werecat who belongs to the Autumn Lord. My sister Menolly is a vampire who's dating a gorgeous werepuma, and the godfather of the undead-set. And me? I'm Camille, Priestess of the Moon Mother, married to a dragon, a youkai, and a Svartan. But my dragon father-in-law has decided that he doesn't like having me for a member of the family...

It's Winter Solstice, and Aeval welcomes me into her Court of Darkness. With Morio still dangerously weak from his injuries and Vanzir alive only thanks to my silence, the thought of training under Morgaine doesn't seem as daunting as it did. But then, Hyto returns to shatter my life. Captured and swept off to the Dragon Reaches, can I manage to stay alive long enough to escape, even as Smoky's father intends to break my spirit, then my body?


 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK

* * *
I've said it before and I'll say it again. Camille's books always come out as the strongest of the set. 

For those of you who are unfamiliar with Yasmine Galenorn, she writes a unique type of urban fantasy, very pagan, full of magic and all sorts of different paranormal creatures. The story in each book follows three half-fae/half-human sisters who along with their friends and family battle a demon who tries to collect seven seals which protect the Earth, and open it to demon invasion and ultimate destruction.

We have a winner!

I wanted to thank everyone who participated in Kick-Butt Characters Giveaway Hop! You guys, ROCK!
I had so much fun, and of course Katniss and Rose totally ruled the whole list of favorite kick-ass ladies and gents you gave me.

The winner of the hop is...

Andrea W.!





a Rafflecopter giveaway


Those of you who haven't won, don't despair! I have a massive giveaway planned starting next week (for all the very important reasons which you find out about later) *wink*

Hugs and love to you all, me dears!

P.S. Katiebabes is giving away quite a few copies of Sacrificial Magic by Stacia Kane at the moment.
As long as she reaches 100 comments (which is 5 comments more) there will be 15 winners,
so please comment away!

12.21.12 by Killian McRae REVIEW + GIVEAWAY!

12.21.12 by Killian McRae

review requested by the author


Synopsis from Goodreads
The only way to save the future is to decode the past. The only way to decode the past is to save the future.

Archaeologist Sheppard Smyth has staked his career and the honorable memory of his wife and partner on proving his widely panned theory: Cleopatra VII, the last sovereign pharaoh of Egypt, was not a victim of suicide as history suggests, but of a well-concealed murder. When a statue of the doomed Queen is unearthed in a pre-Columbian excavation site in Mexico, Shep rushes to investigate and, hopefully, find the proof that has evaded him for so long. The statue, however, is only the first clue suggesting a mysterious connection between Mesopotamia and Mesoamerica, and possibly - beyond. Suddenly thrust into the heated rivalry between sexy and enigmatic antiquities thief Victoria Kent and the infamous Russian mafioso Dmitri Kronastia, Shep finds himself a common pawn played by forces working to see out a quest older than the pyramids and cloaked in the Mayan Doomsday prophecy of 12.21.12.


 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US ($1.00)/UK (£0.77) | The Book Depository US/UKSmashwords 
 
* * *
That was one hell of a great book! Honestly, guys, if any of you liked Stargate, Lara Croft, The Mummy and stories about gods and godlike creatures, this book is for you.

Grave Mercy by R.L. LaFevers EARLY REVIEW

Grave Mercy by R.L.LaFevers (His Fair Assassin #1)

Egalley thanks to Houghton Mifflin Harcourt


Synopsis from Goodreads
Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae's most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?


Release date: 3rd April 2012

 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK

 * * *
I have very polar views about this book, so I will tell you all the things I liked about it first.

Winners, winners, winners!

Thank you everyone, who participated in these giveaways! If you haven't won, fear not! There is more to come!:)

 3 winners of Fire Baptized by Kenya Wright are...

sweety
Lucia C.
Annie Y.



a Rafflecopter giveaway


The winner of Brightest Kind of Darkness by P.T.Michelle is...

Gi-Gi



a Rafflecopter giveaway


The winners of Spring Cleaning giveaway hop are...

Andrea B.who won The Name of The Star
Amanda B. who won Vampires: The Recent Undead Anthology
Veronika who  won The Monster's Corner Anthology



a Rafflecopter giveaway


Congrats!

IMM#30 and what a glorious weather!

Are you enjoying the sun here in UK? Or anywhere else? Isn't it absolutely glorious?
We went for a drive in the countryside yesterday and had a lovely day...
Rudyard Lake in Staffordshire.

My mailbox this week is tiny though. Need to catch up on my reading.

For review

Thank you, Berkley UK! Isn't UK cover gorgeous? I'm looking forward to re-reading the book that dragged me into steampunk.

Bought

This is such a pleasure to read, - super witty and funny. I'm almost done with this book.

Yep, you can see I was in a mood for romance. *wink* and let me just tell you how I love this cover! Beautiful colors and textures.

This is it. What's in your mailbox, ladies and gents?

Only music today, man candy is on holiday ;)

Enjoy lovely Florence and go out into the sunshine, 
ciao!
happy Sunday!

Immortal City by Scott Speer EARLY REVIEW

Immortal City by Scott Speer

won from Elusinian Mysteries and Scholastic


Synopsis from Goodreads
Jackson Godspeed is the hottest young Angel in a city filled with them. He's days away from becoming a full Guardian, and people around the world are already competing for the chance to be watched over by him. Everyone's obsessed with the Angels and the lucky people they protect - everyone except for Madison Montgomery.

Maddy's the one girl in Angel City who doesn't breathlessly follow the Angels on TV and gossip blogs. When she meets Jackson, she doesn't recognize him. But Jackson is instantly captivated by her, and against all odds the two fall in love.

Maddy is swiftly caught up in Jackson's scene, a world of glamour, paparazzi - and murder. A serial killer is on the loose, leaving dead Angels' wings for the police to find on the Walk of Fame. Even the Guardians are powerless to protect themselves in the face of this threat … and this time it's up to Maddy to save Jackson.


Release date: 5th April 2012.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US | The Book Depository US/UK

* * *
OK, funny thing is, I seem to disagree with the majority of reviewers on many YAs. I hated Obsidian and Half-Blood, and DNFed Touch, but I thought that Immortal City which keeps getting average reviews on Goodreads was an exceptionally entertaining read.

Kick-Butt Characters Blog Hop INT Giveaway!

Alright, folks! Something must have clued you in by now that kick-butt characters is what Nocturnal Book Reviews ALL about.
*grinning like a loon*
So, when I heard of this blog hop I was filled  with glee...

Thanks to I Am A Reader, Not a Writer and Good Choice Reading for organising this blog hop!
I'm giving away a choice of ONE book with a kick butt character among this selection of YAs.






As you can see the range varies from fantasy and historical fantasy to sci-fi and urban fantasy, because a kick-butt character as I see it is someone who does not bend, does not give up, does not compromise. 
He or she does not stop until they win or die.
That's why they are so awesome.

The giveaway is open worldwide and ends 28th March 2012.
Good luck!




a Rafflecopter giveaway Jump to other giveaways I have running at the moment:

CLICK HERE TO SEE THE REST OF THE PARTICIPANTS

Hammered by Kevin Hearne REVIEW

Hammered by Kevin Hearne (Iron Druid Chronicles #3)

library copy


Synopsis from Goodreads
Thor, the Norse god of thunder, is worse than a blowhard and a bully—he’s ruined countless lives and killed scores of innocents. After centuries, Viking vampire Leif Helgarson is ready to get his vengeance, and he’s asked his friend Atticus O’Sullivan, the last of the Druids, to help take down this Norse nightmare.

One survival strategy has worked for Atticus for more than two thousand years: stay away from the guy with the lightning bolts. But things are heating up in Atticus’s home base of Tempe, Arizona. There’s a vampire turf war brewing, and Russian demon hunters who call themselves the Hammers of God are running rampant. Despite multiple warnings and portents of dire consequences, Atticus and Leif journey to the Norse plain of Asgard, where they team up with a werewolf, a sorcerer, and an army of frost giants for an epic showdown against vicious Valkyries, angry gods, and the hammer-wielding Thunder Thug himself.


 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK

* * *
 Bloody, bloody hell! A total annihilation, a massacre in the end. This is one of the best showdowns I've ever read in UF. This was how I felt...

RUN AWAY! RUN AWAY! RUN AWAY!

Undoubtedly the best book in series so far. 

Into the Wise Dark by Neesha Meminger REVIEW

Into The Wise Dark by Neesha Meminger

won from The Book Smugglers


Synopsis from Goodreads
Pammi has a Secret--she is an Able. At night, she travels through time to an ancient city called Zanum. She's been visiting Zanum since she was seven and she's kept it a secret from everyone--including her own mother. Especially her mother. Everything's been fine...until now.

On the night of an important Zanum ceremony, Pammi follows her gut instinct and defies an elder's orders, inadvertently leading evil directly to the door of the city she loves. Now the evil that plans to wipe out the city is coming after her. Can she save herself, and Zanum, before it's too late? Or will she seal the doom of all Ables and witness the annihilation of everyone she loves?



  Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US($3.99)/UK(£2.63) |  The Book Depository US/UK

* * *
The writing in this book reminded me a bit of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, but if Laini Taylor uses bold and vivid colours, Neesha Meminger's tones are muted, pastel-like.

Spring Cleaning Giveaway Hop (INT)!

Welcome to Spring Cleaning Giveaway Hop, peeps!
As always my giveaway is open worldwide.
The idea of the giveaway is to find a new home for the books that you don't want to read or re-read yourself so someone else will enjoy them and you clean your own shelves freeing the space for the new books.
I have three books to pass on to you. I bought Maureen Johnson just for this giveaway, and the other two books are anthologies which I don't have a habit of reading.
So here you go...




The first two books are brand new, the last one is gently read.
There will be THREE winners.
All you need to do is to fill in the Rafflecopter with your first, second and third choice of book.
First drawn winner will get his first choice and so on...
Ready? Steady. Go!
Giveaway ends 25th March 2012.



a Rafflecopter giveaway


Don't forget my other two giveaways:
Fire Baptized by Kenya Wright (INT, ends 23rd March 2012)

Double REVIEW: Something Secret This Way Comes & A Bloody Good Secret by Sierra Dean



Something Secret This Way Comes by Sierra Dean (Secret McQueen #1)

kindle freebie


Synopsis from Goodreads

Some secrets are dangerous. This Secret is deadly.


For Secret McQueen, her life feels like the punch line for a terrible joke. Abandoned at birth by her werewolf mother, hired as a teen by the vampire council of New York City to kill rogues, Secret is a part of both worlds, but belongs to neither. At twenty-two, she has carved out as close to a normal life as a bounty hunter can.
When an enemy from her past returns with her death on his mind, she is forced to call on every ounce of her mixed heritage to save herself—and everyone else in the city she calls home. As if the fate of the world wasn’t enough to deal with, there’s Lucas Rain, King of the East Coast werewolves, who seems to believe he and Secret are fated to be together. Too bad Secret also feels a connection with Desmond, Lucas’s second-in-command…

Warning: This book contains a sarcastic, kick-ass bounty hunter; a metaphysical love triangle with two sexy werewolves; a demanding vampire council; and a spicy seasoning of sex and violence. 

 Amazon  UK | Amazon kindle US/UK |  The Book Depository US/UK

 A Bloody Good Secret by Sierra Dean (Secret McQueen #2)

bought


Synopsis from Goodreads
After cheating death twice in one night, confessing her true nature to her werewolf soul mates and being asked to kill one of her closest friends, Secret took a much-needed vacation. By running away.

Now she’s back in town—dragged kicking and screaming—determined to clear Holden Chancery’s name. Right after she finds out what he’s accused of. It shouldn’t be hard—Holden has a habit of using their new and scintillating psychic bond to break into her thoughts and dreams at some very, shall we say, awkward moments.

Just a few things stand in her way: a secretive Tribunal leader, a group of would-be vampire slayers and two werewolf boyfriends who refuse to let her operate in her customary lone-wolf style. Even less amusing are the terrifying creatures that someone is using in an attempt to gain control of the council. Even for this out-of-the-ordinary bounty hunter, it’s a challenge with potentially deadly teeth.

Warning: Contains an ever-plucky heroine with no shortage of weapons, super-hot mind games, an ever-complicated love triangle and one hell of a creepy amusement park.


 Amazon UK | Amazon kindle US/UK |  The Book Depository US/UK

* * *
                                                                        
Where do I start with Secret McQueen? Wow. She reminds of earlier Anita Blake with a streak of Eddie Murphy in Golden Child. She is fun, sassy, sarcastic and knows her Jimmy Choo.


And did I say these two books were fun?  Great, light, clever read. 

IMM#29 or was your week as awesome as mine?

Hey, guys!
It's been an insanely busy week at work, but I also managed to drive to Chester with my hubby, and the town was gorgeous...

Birgit, if you noticed, your bag goes with me everywhere!:)
 We went through few antique shops and I picked up a lovely pair of crystal earrings, and of course Waterstone's in Chester was amazing! and YES, I did get that £1 offer of them at last.

So here is what's in my mailbox this week...

Egalleys

Now, I don't think this is a final cover, because I've seen few different versions of it so far, but the premise sounds fascinating:

Expelled from school, betrayed by her best friend and virtually ignored by her dad, who's never recovered from the death of her mum, Beth Bradley retreats to the sanctuary of the streets, looking for a new home. What she finds is Filius Viae, the ragged and cocky crown prince of London, who opens her eyes to the place she's never truly seen. But the hidden London is on the brink of destruction. Reach, the King of the Cranes, is a malign god of demolition, and he wants Filius dead. In the absence of the Lady of the Streets, Filius' goddess mother, Beth rouses Filius to raise an alleyway army, to reclaim London's skyscraper throne for the mother he's never known. Beth has almost forgotten her old life - until her best friend and her father come searching for her, and she must choose between the streets and the life she left behind.

Hidden London! A god of demolition! I was sold.

This is one of the rare books exploring the world outside of US/UK/Canada. I don't know much of Slovakian folklore and culture but here is my chance to find out!

When Tomas was six, someone — something — tried to drown him. And burn him to a crisp. Tomas survived, but whatever was trying to kill him freaked out his parents enough to convince them to move from Slovakia to the United States.
Now sixteen-year-old Tomas and his family are back in Slovakia, and that something still lurks somewhere. Nearby. It wants to drown him again and put his soul in a teacup. And that’s not all. There’s also the fire víla, the water ghost, pitchfork-happy city folk, and Death herself who are after him.
If Tomas wants to survive, he'll have to embrace the meaning behind the Slovak proverb, So smrťou ešte nik zmluvu neurobil. With Death, nobody makes a pact.

Bought

Here is that £1 each Waterstones offer! *huge grin* You bet that The Name of The Star (which is a great book) goes into my next giveaway!

Wanted to read this book for ages and glad I've waited for UK cover. It's beautiful.

Spied this gorgeous cover in a charity shop in Chester. Me and redheads = instalove.

 Very excited about it, as this book keeps getting very good reviews.

Won

Thanks to Eleusinian Mysteries of Reading and Scholastic!

For Review

Thank you, S.J.!

What's in your mailbox, ladies and gents?

By the way, has anyone seen John Carter already? Yummy visually, crappy pace-wise, the princess Dejah looked absolutely stunning, love line was totally unnecesary. I'll review the film soon.


Now good soundtrack is a must, but no man candy today (we had woman candy aka clothes and jewelry instead).

 
Happy St.Patrick's Day!
Happy Mother's Day!
Whatever you celebrate,
Happy Sunday!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

GFC Widget stopped showing or appears only on special occasions on many blogspot blogs since the beginning of March 2012, but you can still subscribe to my GFC HERE. Thank you!


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

A Token of Appreciation

Just a little note to you all,our dear readers!
If any of you desire to show your support to this blog you can donate through Paypal to chai_s_calinoi at yahoo dot co dot uk or buy a book through any of these links The Book Depository UK/US, Amazon UK/US which will send us a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards the international giveaways here on NBR.
Thank you!

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger