If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.
Showing posts with label erotica. Show all posts
Showing posts with label erotica. Show all posts

Erotic Romance Early Review: The Saint by Tiffany Reisz

The Saint by Tiffany Reisz (The Original Sinners #5)


Egalley courtesy of Harlequin MIRA
18+ only

Synopsis from Goodreads
In the beginning, there was him.

Gutsy, green-eyed Eleanor never met a rule she didn't want to break. She's sick of her mother's zealotry and the confines of Catholic school, and declares she'll never go to church again. But her first glimpse of beautiful, magnetic Father Søren Stearns and his lust-worthy Italian motorcycle is an epiphany. Suddenly, daily Mass seems like a reward, and her punishment is the ache she feels when they're apart. He is intelligent and insightful and he seems to know her intimately at her very core. Eleanor is consumed—and even she knows that can't be right.

But when one desperate mistake nearly costs Eleanor everything, it is Søren who steps in to save her. She vows to repay him with complete obedience…and a whole world opens before her as he reveals to her his deepest secrets.

Danger can be managed—pain, welcomed. Everything is about to begin.


UK Release date: May 27th 2014.
US Release date: June 24th 2014.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

9.5/10

* * *
" I give you forever, the least you can give me is everything."

This book, peeps, this book! I have no words, just exclamation marks. I've told you again and again just how GOOD Tiffany Reisz is as a writer, and The Saint is her strongest book so far.

Erotic Adventure Fiction Review: The House by Cassie Alexander


The House by Cassie Alexander


Ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
The House is a place where all of your desires can be realized -- all you have to do is open the door.

Will you unlock the room with two men waiting to serve you? Or the one with dom inside? Which mask will you choose to wear to the ball? Who will you be for the night – and how many people will you sleep with along the way?

The House is a sexually explicit erotic adventure novel that lets you choose your path. It includes intense scenes of BDSM, bondage, spanking, MMF, FFF, orgies, etc.

The House has a door for everyone inside -- especially you.

This is the first in the Tales from the House Series.

 Amazon kindle US/UK

4/10

* * *
You know I'm the one who'd try a book like that without any hesitation. I'm not a prude. And the format, the concept itself was fun. There are series of possible scenarios, and you are put in the heroine's shoes where you have to decide what to do in the end of each scene, which button to press. It's almost like a computer game.

Erotic Romance Review: Need You Tonight by Roni Loren

Need You Tonight by Roni Loren (Loving On The Edge #5)


bought
18+ only

Synopsis from Goodreads
She’s making a wish list, and he wants to be on top.

From foster kid to trophy wife, Tessa McAllen is about to reinvent herself all over again—and defy every insult her cheating ex-husband ever used against her: Selfish? She’s championing a charity. Stupid? She’s getting her degree.

Boring in bed?

Kade Vandergriff can help her with that one. When they encounter each other at a singles event held at one of his restaurants, Tessa blurts out that kink is for girls who try too hard, and Kade instantly wants to show this sassy stranger how thrilling a night under his command can be…but when he learns her name, the game changes for both of them.

In high school, Tessa was the popular girl who stuttering, awkward Kade fell for. But she chose another. Now, as she eagerly learns lesson after lesson, he’s going to make sure she never forgets him again.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

9/10

* * *
Aww, what a lovely read! I think it's my favorite in the series so far.  

Disregarding BDSM motive that goes throughout the whole series, the back story in this novel is amazing. Kade and Tessa had a crash on each other in high school. But he was a resident geek, and she was a foster kid cheerleader dating a popular jock who promised to take care of her, and stuff happened, so they were just not meant to be.

Erotic Romance Serial Joint Review: Songs of Submission 1-7 by CD Reiss

Songs of Submission #1-7 by CD Reiss


bought
18+only

Synopsis from Goodreads
My name is Monica. I’m a singer born and raised in Los Angeles.
I’ve stopped dating. When I cut a record, or win a Grammy, maybe then I’ll be with someone, but every man in my past has done everything he could to make me submit myself to him, and it’s gotten in the way of my career. I won’t do it again.

But there’s Jonathan. He owns the high-rise hotel where I work, and he is gorgeous and charming. I refuse to fall in love with him, even though when he asks me to submit to him, I want nothing more.

****GRAPHIC LANGUAGE, SEX, AND ADULT SITUATIONS****

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US(FREE!)/UK(FREE!)

9/10

9/10

* * *

Karina:
I don't quite know how to describe this serial. Bloody poetic, intense, beautiful, violent, addictive. I saw it mentioned at Claire's Book Corner, and I know she has the same taste in erotica as I do, so I had to dive in.

CD Reiss explores BDSM without resorting to toys and dungeons. It's not sleazy or fluffy and it rides on pure emotions, especially once you hit fifth novella in the serial, Burn, when the writing jumps from just good to spectacular.

Erotic Romance Review: Bound by Lorelei James

Bound by Lorelei James (Mastered #1)


bought
18+ only

Synopsis from Goodreads
FIRST IN A NEW SERIES

In the new Mastered series by New York Times bestselling author Lorelei James, a woman’s desire to shatter her inhibitions leaves her unprepared for where that erotic journey will take her….


Former small-town girl Amery Hardwick is living her dream as a graphic designer in Denver, Colorado. She’s focused on building her business, which leaves little time for dating—not that she needs a romantic entanglement to fulfill her. When her friend signs up for a self-defense class as part of her recovery after an attack, Amery joins her for support. That’s where she meets him.

Ronin Black, owner of the dojo, is so drawn to Amery that he takes over her training—in public and in private. The enigmatic Ronin pushes Amery’s boundaries from the start, and with each new tryst, Amery becomes addicted to the pleasure and to him. But when Amery senses Ronin is hiding something, she questions her total trust in him, despite the undeniable thrill of his possession….

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
Holy hell! That was off the charts hot and a very good book to boot! Bound is my first foray into Lorelei James, and it's definitely not my last, peeps.

I am very, very picky with erotic romance, and this book ticked all my boxes for an exceptional story. Great characters, nice background story, an intricate balance of power on the edge of a razor blade as this was an erotic romance on the side of D and s relationship.

Erotic Romance Review: Bonds of Love by Sarah K

Bonds of Love by Sarah K


Egalley thanks to HarperCollins

Synopsis from Goodreads
If you loved Fifty Shades of Grey¸ you’ll LUST after this true story of dominance, submission, lust and temptation.

Sarah K is like any normal woman. She lives in a quiet suburban town. She has a couple of kids; a steady job as a writer. But behind the bedroom door she enters a different world – a world sexual power play and erotic control. For Sarah K is a submissive, and she willingly surrenders her body to the passions of a dominant lover.

Still reeling after ending things with her first dom, Max, Sarah finds herself unable to move on. As Max had warned, once you’ve tasted the forbidden fruits of dominance and submission, you can’t go back. So when Sarah meets Alex – a tall, handsome man who shares her erotic desires – she finds herself cast under the dark spell of pleasure and pain once more.

As they explore one another, like an addiction, Sarah begins to crave Alex – his touch, his breath, his smell. Shocked at the emotions he has awakened within her, Sarah tells herself this is just lust. She had learnt the hard way that falling in love is one line that can’t be crossed.

So why does it feel so wrong when Max re-enters her life, determined to possess her once more? Should she admit her true feelings for Alex, and potentially expose herself to the worst pain of all – heartbreak?
 

Hotter than fiction, this intoxicating and explosive true story will set your pulse racing as Sarah K strips away the mask to reveal what it’s really like to be a sexual submissive.
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
I remember reading the first book The Secret Life of a Submissive last year and enjoying the heck out of it. Bonds of Love was just as awesome. "Why?" you'd ask.

Erotic Romance 8 Parts Serial Review: Not Until You by Roni Loren

Not Until You Serial by Roni Loren


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

On the night of her graduation, innocent veterinary student Cela decides to play a game of ‘Never Have I Ever’ with the two hot neighbours she’s been harbouring a secret crush on. Cela thinks she’s earned a wild night before she has to move back home under the watchful gaze of her family. But what starts out as a simple game is about to take a very sensual turn.
Ian Foster is tired of playing games. With his membership to The Ranch, an exclusive BDSM resort, Foster has a life most guys would kill for. But lately, his need for dominance is no longer satisfied via one-night stands. He craves the full surrender of a woman – a submissive of his own.
But when his quiet, sweet-as-sugar neighbour shows up at their door with a bottle of tequila and an invitation, Foster decides he and Pike may have time for one more fling…
Amazon kindle US($1.99)/UK(FREE)

                                              8.5/10


                                                                         * * *

 Phew, this was hot! Lovely, sexy and emotional.

I've never read Roni Loren before and picked up the first part of the serial for free on Amazon UK. Well, by the end of it I was totally hooked and had to buy the rest.

Erotic Romance Early Review: The Dom Project by Heloise Belleau and Solace Ames

The Dom Project by Heloise Belleau and Solace Ames


Egalley courtesy of Carina Press

Synopsis from Goodreads
By day, Robin Lessing has a successful career as a university archivist. By night, she blogs about her less-than-successful search for Mr. Tall, Dark and Dominant. Living up to her handle "The Picky Submissive," she's on the verge of giving up and settling for vanilla with a side of fuzzy handcuffs when she discovers her best friend and colleague has a kinky side, too.

Sexy, tattooed techie John Sun is an experienced Dom who never lacks for playmates, male or female. If he can't satisfy Robin's cravings, maybe no one can—after all, he knows her better than anyone. So he offers to help her master the art of submission for one month.

Robin eagerly agrees to John's terms, even the pesky little rule forbidding any friendship-ruining sex. But rules are made to be broken, and once they begin their stimulating sessions, it's not long before she's ready to beg him for more—much more…

Release date: December 23rd 2013.
Amazon kindle US/UK

7.5/10

* * *
Don't expect anything dark or super steamy, peeps. Instead this is short and sweet and romantic. I loved how The Dom Project was about two close friends finally finding love with each other.

Erotic Romance Early Review: The Wrong Billionaire's Bed by Jessica Clare

The Wrong Billionaire's Bed by Jessica Clare (Billionaire Boys Club #3)


Egalley thanks to Berkley

Synopsis from Goodreads
The Billionaire Boys Club is a secret society of six men who have vowed success--at any cost. Not all of them are old money, but all of them are incredibly wealthy. They're just not always as successful when it comes to love...

Audrey Petty's always been the responsible one. The good twin.  Successful, dependable, and trustworthy--that's Audrey. She'd be the perfect girlfriend for her childhood crush, billionaire Cade Archer...except that she's pretty sure she's not even on his radar. But when fate (and her chaotic twin) come together, Audrey finds out that she'll be spending the next month with Cade at his remote cabin retreat. It's a dream come true...

Until she meets her worst nightmare.

Billionaire playboy Reese Durham is used to seducing women to get what he wants. But when stiff, too-proper Audrey bursts into the private mountain lodge and scares his companion out the door, it's time for a little revenge. It's clear that Audrey's in love with his buddy, Cade...and it's clear to Reese that blackmailing Audrey with this information can get her to agree to just about anything. Like furtive kisses in the dark, or a secret rendezvous in the woods. Audrey may think she knows what she wants, but Reese is determined to show her what she needs.

And as Reese discovers the volatile minx behind the buttoned-up exterior, he starts to think maybe she's just what he needs, too.

Release date: October 15th 2013.
Amazon kindle US(£2.99)/UK(£1.99)

7/10

* * *
Alright, peeps. I've read the previous two books in this series on a whim and really enjoyed both. They are light, sexy, and the men and women in both are quite feisty and entertaining.

It might be just me,  but I couldn't connect with Reese and Audrey. I didn't feel like there was enough emotional struggle and conflict, and I also didn't like how quickly Audrey's resentment of Reese turned into a full on love.

Friday Mini Reviews #14 - The Heiress Effect, Up In The Air trilogy and Simply Irresistible



The Heiress Effect by Courtney Milan (Brothers Sinister #2)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Miss Jane Fairfield can’t do anything right. When she’s in company, she always says the wrong thing—and rather too much of it. No matter how costly they are, her gowns fall on the unfortunate side of fashion. Even her immense dowry can’t save her from being an object of derision.

And that’s precisely what she wants. She’ll do anything, even risk humiliation, if it means she can stay unmarried and keep her sister safe.

Mr. Oliver Marshall has to do everything right. He’s the bastard son of a duke, raised in humble circumstances—and he intends to give voice and power to the common people. If he makes one false step, he’ll never get the chance to accomplish anything. He doesn’t need to come to the rescue of the wrong woman. He certainly doesn’t need to fall in love with her. But there’s something about the lovely, courageous Jane that he can’t resist…even though it could mean the ruin of them both.
 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

9.5/10

Courtney Milan, the goddess of historical romance that she is always manages to take my breath away. She writes people, really imperfect, sad and unsure of themselves and their role in life. She also doesn't do cliches. Jane and Oliver are mad, hilarious and brilliant be that on their own or in a cracking tandem. Please, I beg you, even if you don't think you like historical romance, try this one. You don't know what a gem you're missing. 
* * *
Я вас очень прошу, даже если вы думаете, что исторический роман не для вас, прочитайте эту книгу.  Куртни Милан - эта какая-то невероятная богиня жанра, создающая живых, славных, неуверенных и постоянно находящихся в поиске самих себя персонажей. Ей также удаётся взять за базу клише жанра и перевернуть их с ног на голову, создав что-то совершенно эпичное. Джейн и Оливер - это безумная энергетика и харизма на фоне восхитительной комедии нравов. Хочется и плакать и смеяться, а остановиться, пока не дочитаешь, нельзя.


  Up In The Air Trilogy by R.K. Lilley

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
When reserved flight attendant Bianca gets one look at billionaire hotel owner James Cavendish, she loses all of her hard-won composure. For a girl who can easily juggle a tray of champagne flutes at 35,000 feet in three inch heels, she finds herself shockingly weak-kneed from their first encounter. The normally unruffled Bianca can't seem to look away from his electrifying turquoise gaze. They hold a challenge, and a promise, that she finds impossible to resist, and she is a girl who is used to saying no and meaning it.

Bianca is accustomed to dealing with supermodels and movie stars in her job as a first class flight attendant, but James Cavendish puts them all to shame in the looks department. If only it were just his looks that she found so irresistible about the intimidating man, Bianca could have ignored his attentions. But what tempts her like never before is the dominant pull he seems to have over her from the moment they meet, and the promise of pleasure, and pain, that she reads in his eyes.

This book is intended for ages 18 and up.
 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US($2.99)/UK(£1.84) | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8/10

Half Sylvia Day/half E.L. James, R.K. Lilley is rougher than Fifty Shades but thankfully less emotionally strung than Crossfire series. There were parts which I approved and there were parts which I had to roll my eyes at. Bianca was not a bad character, and I admired that she admitted that she was a submissive and wanted to explore her sexuality. At the same time the token best gay friend who just had to roll with everything James was dishing out was really getting to me. What I have to admit is that this was scorching hot and I couldn't stop until I finished the last book in the series. Definitely 18+ only material.
* * *
Силвия Дэй пополам с Е.Л. Джеймс - так бы я охарактеризовала эту книгу. Стиль Р.К. Лилли намного жёстче, чем 50 Оттенков и в то же время меньше зациклен на невыносимой  душевной драме, чем серия Сильвии Дэй. Бианка мне понравилась потому как она признала особенности своей сексуальности, и её проблемы с Джеймсом были в основном в других сферах их отношений. С другой стороны её лучший друг-гей, который сразу же стал сторонником Джеймса и во всём того поддерживал, казался большим клише и отдавал фальшью. Как бы то не было, несмотря на недостатки книг, я проглотила их одну за другой и вам советую под соответствующее настроение.

Simply Irresistible by Jill Shalvis (Lucky Harbor #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads 

Maddie Moore's whole life needs a makeover.
In one fell swoop, Maddie loses her boyfriend (her decision) and her job (so not her decision). But rather than drowning her sorrows in bags of potato chips, Maddie leaves L.A. to claim the inheritance left by her free-spirited mother--a ramshackle inn nestled in the little coastal town of Lucky Harbor, Washington.
Starting over won't be easy. Yet Maddie sees the potential for a new home and a new career--if only she can convince her two half-sisters to join her in the adventure. But convincing Tara and Chloe will be difficult because the inn needs a big makeover too.
The contractor Maddie hires is a tall, dark-haired hottie whose eyes--and mouth--are making it hard for her to remember that she's sworn off men. Even harder will be Maddie's struggles to overcome the past, though she's about to discover that there's no better place to call home than Lucky Harbor.
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US($1.99) | The Book Depository US/UK

8/10

Really sweet and extremely lovely book which reminded me of Three Sisters Island series by Nora Roberts. It was light, funny and romantic, and it cleansed the palate. Great banter between three sisters! I rarely read books like that but sometimes you can't help but crave something as positive.
* * *
Настолько милейшая и романтическая книга, что я клянусь, у меня аж сахарный песок на зубах скрипел :) Я очень редко читаю такие светлые современные романы, но иногда хочется, чтобы отдохнуть. Очень понравились смешные диалоги между такими разными тремя сёстрами.

Erotic Romance Early Review: Revealing Us by Lisa Renee Jones

Revealing Us by Lisa Renee Jones (Inside Out #3)


Egalley thanks to Gallery Books

Synopsis from Goodreads
The third installment in the sexy Inside Out erotic romance series—in the seductive tradition of Fifty Shades of Grey.

You've discovered Rebecca's secrets. You've discovered Sara's secrets. Now Sara will discover "his" deepest, darkest secrets...but will those secrets bind them together--or tear them apart?


Release date: September 10th 2013.

Amazon  US | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

7.5/10

* * *
I really wanted to enjoy this book as much as the first two, my dear readers, but I couldn't. I like Lisa Renee Jones, I really do, but this book unfortunately pushed all the wrong buttons and made me dissolve into a simple rant, which I apologise for in advance.

Friday Mini Reviews #12 - Magic Rises, Inside Out Series and Hellfire

Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews (Kate Daniels #6)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Atlanta is a city plagued by magical problems. Kate Daniels will fight to solve them—no matter the cost.

Mercenary Kate Daniels and her mate, Curran, the Beast Lord, are struggling to solve a heartbreaking crisis. Unable to control their beasts, many of the Pack’s shapeshifting children fail to survive to adulthood. While there is a medicine that can help, the secret to its making is closely guarded by the European packs, and there’s little available in Atlanta.

Kate can’t bear to watch innocents suffer, but the solution she and Curran have found threatens to be even more painful. The European shapeshifters who once outmaneuvered the Beast Lord have asked him to arbitrate a dispute—and they’ll pay him in medicine. With the young people’s survival and the Pack’s future at stake, Kate and Curran know they must accept the offer—but they have little doubt that they’re heading straight into a trap…
 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK

10/10

Obviously I am not going to tell you this book is crap. Never gonna happen. I love Ilona and Gordon Andrews for a reason, and it's because they are the best of the best in urban fantasy.  Magic Rises literally fried my brains, and I'm still dreading picking up another urban fantasy only to find that it sub par. Fabulous plot, refreshing location outside Europe and America and for once somewhere I definitely can relate to with ease. Action is to DIE FOR, especially that sword fight. I was drooling, peeps, it was a thing of such beauty! Anyway, read this. Worth every damn penny.
* * *
Короче, ребятушки вы мои, читайте, если вы ещё эту книгу не прочитали или вообще жили в пещере последние 5 лет. Илона и Гордон Андрюс пишут одну из лучших серий городского фэнтези, что мне когда либо приходилось читать. Эта книга вообще мне выжгла мозги, и я до сих пор боюсь взять в руки что-то из того же жанра, чтобы не начать плеваться по сравнению. События происходят в Абхазии, сюжет великолепный, экшн - умереть можно от восторга, особенно от боя на мечах - я до сих пор утираю слюни. Чего вы ждёте?! Читайте!

  Inside Out Series by Lisa Renee Jones

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
When Sara McMillan finds a stack of journals in a storage unit, she’s shocked and enthralled by the erotic life the writer led. Unable to stop reading, she vicariously lives out dark fantasies through Rebecca, the writer—until the terrifying final entry.

Certain something sinister has happened, Sara sets out to discover the facts, immersing herself in Rebecca’s life. Soon she’s working at the art gallery Rebecca worked at and meeting Rebecca’s friends. Finding herself drawn to two dangerously sexy men, the manager of the gallery and a famed artist, Sara realizes she’s going down the same path Rebecca took. But with the promise of her dark needs being met by a man with confident good looks and a desire for control, she’s not sure anything else matters. Just the burn for more.
 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8.5/10

 You know I've been on the roll for the last couple of months with erotic romance novels, and this is one of the really good series, folks. Very slight dominance - submission story line, good psychological thriller and a decent story with some pretty hot action. Also, it's about the world of art which I adore. What's not to love?
* * *
Одна из совсем неплохих серий эротического романа-триллера с тонкой примесью БДСМ дю жур как обычно. Читается легко, оторваться невозможно, описывает мир искусства и художественных галлерей, а также огромных денег, которые между ними перетекают. Добавьте к этому журналы исчезнувшей Ребекки, по которым Сара пытается её найти, для чего начинает жить жизнью последней, и старый безпроигрышный вопрос - кто же виноват в исчезновении Ребекки и где же она? Интересно и довольно талантливо. Мне понравилось.

Hellfire by Jean Johnson (Theirs  Not To Reason Why #3)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

Her story began in the national bestsellers A Soldier’s Duty and An Officer’s Duty. Now Ia is captain and commander at the helm of Hellfire, where she is finally free to chart the course for the fulfillment of her destiny…

As captain, Ia must now assemble a crew that can rise to the ultimate challenge of saving the galaxy. The hardest part will be getting them to believe her, to trust in her prophecies. If they don’t, her own crew will end up being the biggest obstacle in her race against time.

The Salik are breaking through the Blockade, plunging the known galaxy into war. Ia cannot stop it this time, nor does she want to. This is the terrible price she has seen all along—that some must pay with their lives so that others might live. Now only time itself can prove whether each member of her crew is merely a soldier or truly one of Ia’s Damned.
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK

9.5/10

Yum, I had my dose of Ia at last. It's no secret that I love this amazing military sci-fi series, and eat it like one deranged, psychodelic candy. It's convoluted, messy, emotionally intense, and your brain can't comprehend how one person can hold the weight of the world on her shoulders for so long. When Ia cracked in this book, I had tears in my eyes, it was so hard to bear. Gripping, amazing and wild. Really enjoyed it and very much recommend it.
* * *
Я уже пела дифирамбы этой серии, но мне придётся повториться. Сильнейшая милитаризованная научная фантастика! За главную героиню, пророка Ию, очень переживаешь, так как понять как один человек может нести на своих плечах груз всего мира невозможно. Когда Ия здесь наконец-то надрывается, от её нервного срыва на глаза наворачиваются слёзы. Очень напряжённо, безумно креативно и оторваться невозможно. Читайте!

Erotic Romance Review: Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones

Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones (The Secret Life of Amy Bensen #1)


Egalley thanks to Julie Patra Publishing

Synopsis from Goodreads
Infinite possibilities….
Infinite passion…..
Infinite danger….

His touch spirals through me, warm and sweet, wicked and hot. I shouldn’t trust him. I shouldn’t tell him my secrets. But how do I not when he is the reason I breathe? He is what I need.

At the young age of eighteen, tragedy and a dark secret force Lara to flee all she has known and loves to start a new life. Now years later, with a new identity as Amy, she’s finally dared to believe she is forgotten–even if she cannot forget. But just when she lets down her guard, the ghosts of her past are quick to punish her, forcing her back on the run.

On a plane, struggling to face the devastation of losing everything again and starting over, Amy meets Liam Stone, a darkly entrancing recluse billionaire, who is also a brilliant, and famous, prodigy architect. A man who knows what he wants and goes after it. And what he wants is Amy. Refusing to take “no” as an answer, he sweeps her into a passionate affair, pushing her to her erotic limits. He wants to possess her. He makes her want to be possessed. Liam demands everything from her, accepting nothing less. But what if she is too devastated by tragedy to know when he wants more than she should give? And what if there is more to Liam than meets the eyes?

Amazon  US | Amazon kindle US($0.99)/UK(£0.77) | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

 8.5/10

* * *

Miss Jones has a lovely way of writing compelling erotic thrillers. This was her second series I started, and despite having some minor issues with character inconsistency, I really enjoyed reading about Amy Bensen's life and her various secrets.

Friday Mini Reviews #7 - Riveted, Rough Surrender and Adrien English Mysteries

 
 
Riveted by Meljean Brook (Iron Seas #3)

library

Synopsis from Goodreads
A century after a devastating volcanic eruption forced Iceland’s inhabitants to abandon its shores, the island has become enshrouded in legend. But the truth behind the legends is mechanical, not magical—and the mystery of the island a matter of life and death for a community of women who once spilled noble blood to secure their freedom.

Five years ago, Annika unwittingly endangered that secret, but her sister Källa took the blame and was exiled. Now Annika serves on an airship, searching for her sister and longing to return home. But that home is threatened when scientific expedition leader David Kentewess comes aboard, looking to expose Annika’s secrets. Then disaster strikes, leaving David and Annika stranded on a glacier and pursued by a madman, with their very survival depending on keeping the heat rising between them—and generating lots of steam.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK(£3.99) | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

 9/10

* * * 
I still don't think anything can beat the first book of the series, but Riveted came pretty darn close to it. And it's the characters that did it. Annika and David are so fabulous together, you stay glued to the book until the very end cheering for this couple. Annika is an absolute powerhouse who makes things happen and David is the quiet force behind her. Add to it, fantastic background and chilling plot, and this an insanely good book! Highly recommended.
* * *
Слушайте, ну если вы уже прочитали первую и вторую книгу серии, вы знаете что Брук безумно хороша, и рекомендовать её вам не нужно. Завороженная - это книга, в которую сначала влюбляешься из-за сильнейших главных характеров, которые просто поразительно хороши друг для друга. Прибавьте к этому интереснейший фон исландского острова и очень хорошо прописанных злодеев, и оторваться будет невозможно. Читайте, ибо надо!


Rough Surrender by Cari Silverwood 

bought
18+ only

Synopsis from Goodreads

One master, one woman who craves surrender, and a sky that will challenge them both.

At a time when airplanes are as new-fangled and sensational as the telephone, Faith dares to fly.

The one territory she has not explored is her own sexuality. In Leonhardt she discovers the man who can teach her how a woman surrenders her body and her mind. However, Leonhardt has a shadowed past and his own learning to do. He doesn't have the right to keep Faith from flying, even if he thinks airplanes are flimsy death-traps made of canvas, timber and their inventor's prayers.

Faith has her limits, Leonhardt has his flaws, and sometimes the nicest people get murdered by unscrupulous bastards. Even if Leonhardt can save the woman he loves, the battle for Faith’s heart will be the hardest one of all. 

 Amazon kindle US($4.99)/UK(£3.71)

9/10

* * * 
Rough Surrender is my first forage into Cari Silverwood, and it's definitely not the last. She usually does contemporary BDSM erotica or steampunkish one, so this historical fiction/erotica with strong BDSM elements is a fluke for her. And it's gorgeous. Great story, insane chemistry between main characters and a really atmospheric setting. This is one of the books where you wish it wouldn't have ended so soon. I've never read anything like it and it left quite an impression.
* * *
Вот нахожу я иногда совершенно случайно пёрлы среди авторов БДСМ эротики. Это моя первая книга Кари Силвервуд, и думаю, что не последняя. Красивый исторический фон Египта 19в., шикарная атмосфера, очень живые и интересные персонажи и довольно сильная история. Читалось взахлёб и оставило прекрасное впечатление. Это одна из книг, где всё заканчивается слишком рано и хочется продолжения.


Fatal Shadows by Josh Lanyon (Adrien English Mysteries #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Someone's out to get Los Angeles bookseller Adrien English. His best friend has been viciously murdered, now he's getting weird phone calls and sinister gifts from a mysterious "admirer". The cops think he's trying to divert suspicion from himself—with the exception of sexy and homophobic homicide detective Jake Riordan.

Is Riordan really such a great detective—or does he have a few secrets of his own? Is his offer to help Adrien on the level or is he out to nail his favorite suspect—to the wall?

 Amazon kindle US($5.99)/UK(£3.79) | The Book Depository US/UK


9/10

* * *
This is my rating for the whole series, peeps. What can I say? Adrien English's life is simply addictive. I read 5 books back to back in one day while I was in bed with the flu. Gorgeous characterization, warm characters, a tragic, mesmerizing and raw love story and really really good murder mysteries wrapped all in one. Highly highly recommended especially if you think (like I did too) that m/m books is not your thing. Believe me this one is really worth a try.
* * *
 Это моя оценка за все 5 книг серии,которую я просто проглотила за один день пока лежала в постели с гриппом. Прекрасные детективные истории, дивная просто характеризация героев, пронзительная история любви, которая проходит через все 5 книг. Я вас очень прошу, прочитайте, даже если вы ( как и я до этого) думаете, что М/М книги не для вас. Вы ошибаетесь.

Erotic Thriller Early Review: The Mistress by Tiffany Reisz

The Mistress by Tiffany Reisz (The Original Sinners #4)


Egalley thanks to Harlequin Mira

Synopsis from Goodreads
There's punishment — and then there's vengeance.

Nora Sutherlin is in handcuffs, being held captive. Under different circumstances, she would enjoy the situation immensely, but her captors aren't interested in play. Or pity.

As the reality of her impending peril unfolds, Nora becomes Scheherazade, buying each hour of her life with stories — sensual tales of Søren, Kingsley and Wesley, each of whom has tempted, tested and tortured her in his own way. This, Nora realises, is her life: nothing so simple, so vanilla, as a mere love triangle for her. It's a knot in a silken cord, a tangled mass of longings of the body, the heart and the mind...which all could unravel at any moment.

But in Nora's world, no one is ever truly powerless — a cadre of her friends, protectors and lovers stands ready to do anything to save her. Even when the only certainty seems to be sacrifice and heartbreak...

US Release Date: July 30th 2013.
UK Release Date: August 1st 2013. 
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

9/10

* * *
Oh. My. God. What a heart-wrenching, intense and raw book. The Mistress is the last of four books in The Red Years phase of the series which talks about Nora as Dominatrix. The next four books will be The White Years which will tell us about Nora, Soren and Kingsley's past.

Erotic Novel Review: To Seek a Master by Monica Belle

To Seek a Master by Monica Belle


Egalley thanks to Random House UK

Synopsis from Goodreads
Work hard, play harder. . .

Eclipsed by the high-powered businesspeople that surround her, shy Laura Irving spends her time absorbed in her own workplace-fantasies.

So when the masterful and arrogant man known as 'The Devil' begins to show interest she is both terrified and thrilled. And there is nothing she wants more than to call him 'Master'.

A classic Black Lace tale of a love-hate affair and an explosive relationship.


Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

 8/10

* * *
First of all, it's a relief to know that this is a reprint of 2009 edition, so all the comparisons to Fifty can stop now. Secondly, it's fun and flirty and it's based in Britain - yay for that!

Erotic Dystopian Romance Review: Beyond Control by Kit Rocha

Beyond Control by Kit Rocha (Beyond #2)


Egalley thanks to Kit Rocha

18+ only

Synopsis from Goodreads
She refuses to be owned.

Alexa Parrino escaped a life of servitude and survived danger on the streets to become one of the most trusted, influential people in Sector Four, where the O’Kanes rule with a hedonistic but iron fist. Lex has been at the top for years, and there’s almost nothing she wouldn’t do for the gang…and for its leader. Lie, steal, kill—but she bows to no one, not even Dallas O’Kane.

He’ll settle for nothing less.

Dallas fought long and hard to carve a slice of order out of the chaos of the sectors. Dangers both large and small threaten his people, but it’s nothing he can’t handle. His liquor business is flourishing, and new opportunities fuel his ambition. Lex could help him expand his empire, something he wants almost as much as he wants her. And no one says no to the king of Sector Four.

Falling into bed is easy, but their sexual games are anything but casual. Attraction quickly turns to obsession, and their careful dance of heady dominance and sweet submission uncovers a need so deep, so strong, it could crush them both.


 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

9/10

* * *
 I have a feeling that if someone who doesn't know this blog looks at the way I rated books this week, they would think I give five stars to all the books I read. *grinning* But honestly, this week is exceptional for very good reads which I can't help but rate very highly.

Take Beyond Control. You might remember that I read Beyond Shame, book #1 in the series, few months ago and absolutely loved it?

Erotic Romance Early Review: Lush by Lauren Dane

Lush by Lauren Dane (Delicious #3)


Egalley thanks to Berkley Trade

Synopsis from Goodreads
Mary Whaley has her hands full running a successful catering company and overseeing her supper club. She has everything she ever wanted—or so she thought. When she meets ridiculously hot and very dirty rock star Damien Hurley at her friend’s engagement party, the attraction she feels is overpowering—and she isn’t about to deny herself.

Damien is used to a hard and fast life. He and two of his brothers started a band when they were fresh out of high school—then they hit the big time and stayed there. He’s also a legendary madman on the stage and in the bedroom. But when he meets Mary, something clicks, and the bad boy starts thinking he may have finally found something good.

What begins as a series of fleeting trysts soon gets much more complicated. Damien can’t figure out why Mary doesn’t want more from him. And before long, it’s Damien who wants more from Mary. But it turns out Mary is no stranger to celebrity news, and he’s got a very big job ahead of him: proving that he’s worth more than a one-night stand…


Release Date: April 2nd 2013.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US | The Book Depository US/UK

7.5/10

* * *
 It's a very cutesy, sweet and hot book, my first forage in Lauren Dane's writing, and I just couldn't resist. This has two of my favourite tropes in romance and anything else - rock singers and chefs. I kid you not. I love reading books and watching movies about chefs or anyone with a guitar and a sexy voice. Bring it on! :) 

Erotic Thriller Review: Stripped by Tori St.Claire

Stripped by Tori St. Claire (Black Opals #1)


won from the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
In Tori St. Claire's dangerously naughty debut novel, a body of secrets is entwined with a body of lies...and deception is part of the game.

As a member of the CIA's elite Black Opals, Natalya Trubachev must live a lie, working undercover as the lover of Dmitri, a Russian mob boss. His business is trafficking vulnerable Las Vegas strippers overseas for twisted sex games. Natalya's business is to blow the ring wide open and bring down Dmitri and his American contacts. But the stakes are raised when she learns that the next target is her own sister Kate, a dancer in the famed club Fantasia. Only now does Natalya realize how personal her mission has become, and how far she's willing to go to complete it.

The manager of Fantasia is Brandon Moretti, an undercover detective who keeps a close eye on his girls, and an even closer one on his sinfully sensual newest hire. For Natalya, working the club could be the break she's been waiting for. But for Moretti, Natalya is a possible link to a killer. Only he never counted on her being so lethally seductive or so dangerous to get close to. As every forbidden pleasure between them is stripped away, his own secrets threaten their security, but it's Natalya's secrets that could destroy them both.


Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | BooksOnBoard

3.5/10

* * *
At some point in the past I've read a very favourable review of this book from Smexy Books and decided I wanted it. A year-year and a half later I had a chance to read it, and well... the experience left me very disappointed.

Erotic Novel Review: The Secret Life of a Submissive by Sarah K

The Secret Life of a Submissive: A True Story by Sarah K


bought
18+ only
 
Synopsis from Goodreads
Sarah K has a secret.
 

By day she’s a writer and level-headed single mother; by night she’s a submissive, surrendering herself to forbidden delights. But will she perform the most illicit act of all – falling in love?
 

Written with complete honesty, this is an electrifying journey to the heights of pleasure; a real-life Fifty Shades of Grey.

When Max comes into Sarah’s life – charming, handsome and deliciously brooding – she can’t stop herself. Before long she has surrendered to him in every way: becoming his submissive, yielding her body to his every desire, powerless to fight his sensual temptations.

As Sarah pushes her mind and body to its limits, she begins to realise that she’s in too deep. Pleasure and pain have become her world. She’s addicted – to the adrenalin, to the sensation, to Max himself.

Now she’s in serious danger of giving in to the ultimate temptation: falling in love…

Daring, evocative and thrilling, but told with wit and honesty, this is the explosive true story of life as a submissive, and of a secret world in which only a few dare to play.


Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

9/10

* * *
Sarah K's story grabbed my attention after I read a glowing review on Claire's Book Corner. The story was a true account and it was based in England which ensured that I went and bought the damn book straight away.

I would not call The Secret Life of a Submissive an erotic romance - it reads like a true, raw and honest account, sad and awkward at times, an intimate exploration of your own desires without going into surrealistic over-the-top territory which is a bane of most of erotic novels existence.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Open Thread

GFC Followers

GFC Widget stopped showing or appears only on special occasions on many blogspot blogs since the beginning of March 2012, but you can still subscribe to my GFC HERE. Thank you!


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

A Token of Appreciation

Just a little note to you all,our dear readers!
If any of you desire to show your support to this blog you can donate through Paypal to chai_s_calinoi at yahoo dot co dot uk or buy a book through any of these links The Book Depository UK/US, Amazon UK/US which will send us a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards the international giveaways here on NBR.
Thank you!

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger