If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.

Erotic Romance Early Review: Captivated by Megan Hart & Tiffany Reisz

Captivated by Megan Hart & Tiffany Reisz (Cosmo Red-Hot Reads)


Egalley thanks to Harlequin

Synopsis from Goodreads

Double the passion and seduction as New York Times bestselling author Megan Hart and international bestselling author Tiffany Reisz weave two provocative tales about power, bad-boy lovers and secret desires! 

LETTING GO by Megan Hart 
Colleen goes to the same bar every night and orders the same drink: a whiskey, neat. She doesn't drink it, though. Jesse the bartender notices the beautiful, sad woman who keeps to herself. Until one night when she lets go and lets him in. And after that, Jesse has only one mission to show her one night is only the beginning…  

SEIZE THE NIGHT by Tiffany Reisz 
Five years ago, a night of forbidden passion between Remi and Julien, the heirs of two powerful and competitive horse-racing families, led to a feud that is threatening to ruin both farms. Now Remi must find Julien again but when she does, her need for Julien is just as strong and just as forbidden…
Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
Letting Go by Megan Hart was a lovely story, which introduced me to this author. I enjoyed the atmosphere, the writing style and the idea that Colleen was an older, more dominant woman who was just discovering herself after a very bad marriage.

Jesse was a very nice, good-natured guy who in his own quiet way suited Colleen to a tee, and I enjoyed the dynamics of their relationship. The story had that cosy, feel good vibe, which made me think of Jill Shalvis and Nora Roberts, and I'll definitely be reading more of this author in the future.

Seize The Night by Tiffany Reisz didn't have any of the characters we knew from her previous novels but it was a) involving race horses and b) mentioned Wesley's family, so I had warm fuzzies because of that. The story itself was tons of fun! Boisterous, clever and gorgeous!

It was a reverse take on Romeo and Juliet, but a comedy instead of tragedy, and with Merrick instead of Mercutio. Merrick in Miss Reisz's own words is a male version of Nora, so you can imagine what was coming out of his mouth every ten seconds... *laughing*

Overall, very much recommended, and both stories complimented each other beautifully!

* * *
Очень понравились истории от обоих авторов, хотя я была и не знакома до этого со стилем Меган Харт и книгу запросила у издателя только из-за того, что вторая история написана моей любимой Тиффани Райс!

Меган Харт описала женщину в среднем возрасте, оправляющуюся от очень неудачного брака, который уничтожил её самооценку и заставил сомневаться в каждом из своих поступков.

Колин - сексуально женщина доминирующая, и когда Джесс - бармэн в заведении, куда она ходит каждый четверг, начинает за ней ухаживать, она не тольков  ужасе от того, что он её моложе, но и от своей собственной реакции на него. Пара вышла у Меган Харт очень гармоничная, и история сама по себе комфортная и напоминает стиль Норы Робертс и Джилл Шалвис.

Тиффани Райс описала комедийный вариант Ромео и Джульетты, и с её романами его связывает всего лишь два пункта. Во-первых, здесь замешаны кентукские игровые лошади, а во-вторых, здесь упоминается (вскользь) семья Уэсли.

Сама по себе история смешная, красивая и язвительная до невозможности. Меркуцио, то есть Меррик - по словам мисс Райс, мужской вариант Норы, так что вы можете себе представить тот хаос , в котором он оказывается замешан. Сами Реми и Джулиен - милейшие и добрые персонажи, и я надеюсь, что мы с ними встретимся снова.

В общем, хороши оба автора, рекомендую!

Joint Urban Fantasy Review: Desert Bound by Elizabeth Hunter

Desert Bound by Elizabeth Hunter (Cambio Springs #2)


Ecopy from the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
Can you turn the clock back on your first love? Would you even want to try?

Alex McCann and Teodora "Ted" Vasquez left Cambio Springs together. Ted came back. Alex didn't.

Now, years later, the future alpha of the McCann wolves has returned with plans to bring new life to the dying desert community. Plans that could change everything for the isolated enclave of shapeshifters in the California desert. Some love the plan. Others hate it.

As the town's doctor and one of the strongest daughters in the cat clan, Ted has her own concerns about exposing her community to outsiders. The two former lovers are at each other's throats. And everyone is watching to see what happens.

But when murder once again strikes Cambio Springs, can they overcome their past to help the community they both call home? And can the love they shared once burn again when so many stand against it?

DESERT BOUND is an adult paranormal romance in the Cambio Springs Mysteries series.

Amazon US | Amazon kindle US/UK

9/10

8.5/10


* * *

Vika:
Small town romance, passionate couple who can’t help but argue every step of the way, and a murder mystery that once again has shaken up the small, quirky town of Cambio Springs. Elizabeth Hunter does not disappoint, which I should know by now; and this small town with its inhabitants is full of character, charm, and of course a bit of mystery.

Erotic Romance Review: Ruin by C.D. Reiss

Ruin by C.D. Reiss ( Songs of Corruption #2)


Egalley thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
Antonio is a killer.
He's beautiful, educated, a prodigy of a thief and as violent a motherfucker as ever came of the boat from Napoli.

Theresa knows it, but that doesn't stop her from getting emotionally and physically entangled with him, and this is how, maybe, she got it in her head that she can protect him.

But it's not her job to save him, and she's just not getting that. Every time she tries to protect him, she practically gets him killed, and the tighter he grips her, the more dangerous she becomes.

It's almost as if...well, he'd never admit this....but it's almost as if protecting her the way he does is the one thing he should stop. As if the only way he's ever going to find a moment's peace is to just embrace her as a partner, rather than a defenseless creature.

But he'd never do that. Not this violent motherfucker.

WARNING: This book contains delicious sex scenes with a hot man dirty-talking in Italian; women handling firearms and explosives; and scenes of violence with a crystal Virgin Mary cigarette lighter.

Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
This book is explosive, ladies and gents, and I could not for the life of me have expected such a shocking ending! Wow.

Friday Mini Reviews #32: Anne Bishop, Charlaine Harris & Tiffany Reisz



Tangled Webs by Anne Bishop (The Black Jewels #6)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Anne Bishop's national bestselling and critically acclaimed Black Jewels series has enthralled readers with its lavish blend of "the darkly macabre with spine-tingling emotional intensity, mesmerizing magic, lush sensuality, and exciting action." Now readers can return to the violently passionate world rules by the Blood, a race of witches and warlocks whose power is channeled through magical jewels....

The invitation is signed Jaenelle Angelline, she who had been both Witch and Queen.

It summons her family to an entertainment she had specially prepared. Surreal SaDiablo, former courtesan and assassin, arrives first. But as she and her escort enter the house, the door disappears. Surreal finds herself trapped in a nightmare created by the tangled webs of Black Widow witches - a nightmare where the monsters are too real. And if she uses Craft to defend herself, she risks being sealed in the house forever.

But Jaenelle did not send the invitation.

And now Jaenelle and her family must rescue Surreal and the others inside without becoming trapped themselves, and they must also discover who created such an evil place and why. Because there is one thing they all know about this house: No matter who planned it as a way to kill members of the SaDiablo family, only one of the Blood could have created the trap....
Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
8.5/10

Wow, this was different! Surreal and Rainier were the main characters of the book but Daemon, Lucivar and Jaenelle weren't left far behind. This book is a perfect Halloween read, peeps! It involves an evil house designed to trap and kill SaDiablo family and their very gory struggle to stay alive and destroy this house. Chilly, scary and very intense, this was a fantastic read!
* * *
У Энн Бишоп вышел отличный фэнтезийный триллер, который хорошо пойдёт в качестве обязательного чтива на Хэллоуин. В этот раз главными характерами оказались Суррил и Рэйньер, попавшие в дом-ловушку, запланированную, чтобы погубить всё семейство СаДиабло. Однако Дэймон, Люсивар и Жанель тоже играют в этой книге очень важные роли. Зловещ, кровав и полон напряжения, этот роман читать надо обязательно!


Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse #13)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

There are secrets in the town of Bon Temps, ones that threaten those closest to Sookie—and could destroy her heart...

Sookie Stackhouse finds it easy to turn down the request of former barmaid Arlene when she wants her job back at Merlotte’s. After all, Arlene tried to have Sookie killed. But her relationship with Eric Northman is not so clearcut. He and his vampires are keeping their distance…and a cold silence. And when Sookie learns the reason why, she is devastated.

Then a shocking murder rocks Bon Temps, and Sookie is arrested for the crime.

But the evidence against Sookie is weak, and she makes bail. Investigating the killing, she’ll learn that what passes for truth in Bon Temps is only a convenient lie. What passes for justice is more spilled blood. And what passes for love is never enough...
Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Audible
6.5/10
 I'm not surprised that I was so disappointed by the ending of this series. The first sign of it appeared when I couldn't get through the first few chapters but I wanted to finish, damn it, and got the book on audio instead! I knew the separation from Eric was inevitable and I also knew that the formula of "Sookie gets into trouble and all her friends end up saving her" will hold, but the in beetween was so mind-numbingly boring that reading till the very uninspiring HEA was frankly not worth it. Anyway, it's much more palatable on audio if you must do it.
* * *
М-да, я оказалась очень разочарована концовкой Суки Стакхаус, однако не удивлена. Я знала, что книга у меня эта наверняка не пойдёт, когда бросила читать ей на первых нескольких главах, однако довести серию до конца мне хотелось, и вместо этого я прослушала её на аудио.  Как я и догадывалась, Эрик и Суки расстались, она попала в очередной переплёт и все её друзья собрались в её доме, чтобы её спасти. Большая частью её врагов была уничтожена и она получила наконец-таки свой хэппи-энд. Ну очень занудная книга, читать не советую.


The Headmaster by Tiffany Reisz

bought as a part of anthology Harlequin E Shivers Box Set Volume 4

Synopsis from Goodreads

At the remote Marshall School, Gwen Ashby stumbles upon the job—and the man—of her dreams. Stern, enigmatic Edwin Yorke simmers with a heat Gwen longs to unleash. But Edwin knows all too well that forbidden love can end in tragedy….
Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10


The Headmaster was beautiful, eery and very cozy! Another perfect Halloween read, ladies and gents! It's also not related to Tiffany's The Original Sinners series, so if you want to try this author with a short story without any commitments, go right ahead! She doesn't involve any BDSM aspects in this book, but her main heroine, Gwen, is just as incorrigeable as Nora and the headmaster Edwin is as stern as Soren and crumbles before Gwen in the same formidable manner. There is humour, warmth and a very haunting, bittersweet ending. Loved it!
* * *
Милейшая короткая история от Тиффани Райс, дамы и господа, отличная для Хэллоуина! Здесь нет никакой связи с основной серией этого авора и никаких аспектов БДСМ, так что если вы хотите узнать почему я так люблю мисс Райс, но не желаете читать Сирену, смело пробуйте этот рассказ! Гвен своим дерзким чувством юмора и теплотой напоминает Нору, а суровый Эдвин - это смягчённая версия Сорена. Очень романтично и душевно, несмотря на горько-сладкую, печальную концовку.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

GFC Widget stopped showing or appears only on special occasions on many blogspot blogs since the beginning of March 2012, but you can still subscribe to my GFC HERE. Thank you!


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

A Token of Appreciation

Just a little note to you all,our dear readers!
If any of you desire to show your support to this blog you can donate through Paypal to chai_s_calinoi at yahoo dot co dot uk or buy a book through any of these links The Book Depository UK/US, Amazon UK/US which will send us a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards the international giveaways here on NBR.
Thank you!

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger