If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


The Force of Wind by Elizabeth Hunter: Elemental Mysteries Blog Tour and Giveaway!


The Force of Wind by Elizabeth Hunter (Elemental Mysteries #3)

review copy received from the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
How far would you go to protect the ones you love?

What would you sacrifice to kill the one you hate?

Join Giovanni Vecchio and Beatrice De Novo as they travel to a hidden island on the far edge of China to seek the help of an ancient immortal court. Can they weave their way through the tangled web of centuries-old alliances and ruthless feuds to find what they’ve been looking for? Friends will be revealed, enemies will find them, and a dangerous secret will come to light.

The third book in the Elemental Mysteries series will see Giovanni and Beatrice joined by a group of unlikely allies as they explore the history and myth of the far East. Many have been stolen, but only one holds the key.

The Force of Wind is the third book in the four-part Elemental Mysteries series. It is the sequel to This Same Earth and is a paranormal mystery/romance for adult readers.

 Amazon kindle US/UKSmashwords

* * *
Those of you who've been reading this blog since last year know that Elizabeth's first book A Hidden Fire made it into my list of best reads of 2011.

It's hard to explain why her writing pushes so many right buttons for me. 

Elizabeth created a smart and intoxicating paranormal mystery with romantic elements which takes you all over the world in search of ancient manuscripts containing the secrets of the immortality elixir. It introduces a classic villain, a complicated vampire hierarchy full of intrigues, favours and a strange elemental magic. It brings you gorgeous martial art teachings and strong battle sequences. At last, it gives us an enigmatic pairing of  Gio and Beatrice, whose relationship has a long, complicated and stormy past, but who're undeniably deeply in love with each other.

Maybe this is why I love this series so much.


The Force of Wind is a bittersweet, tumultuous and heartbreaking read. things we expect come to pass and things we don't expect at all come to pass.

Beatrice came a long way from being a snarky girl librarian to becoming a formidable opponent and  warrior. 

Book #3 takes her and Gio to a secret island in China where the Council of Eight Immortals lives ruling vampires of this world. The war with Lorenzo ended with a Mexican stand off, and the Council wants to make a peaceful decision concerning the manuscript which both Gio and Lorenzo consider theirs.

B feels that the clock is ticking and she is running out of time. She trains like mad with Baojia and Tenzin, preparing her body and mind to being turned because she feels that her humanity is a constant weakness in their battle with Lorenzo and she wants to eliminate it.

“I have to say, you do smell delicious. I kind of understand why he wants to keep you.”
Beatrice frowned. “Tenzin, please don’t make me feel any more like dinner than I already do.”
Her friend laughed long and hard. Finally, Beatrice did too. Then Tenzin reached over and stroked Beatrice’s hair back from her face, and the soft look she occasionally allowed herself peeked through.
“It will be all right. Relax.” Beatrice could feel the amnis start to creep across her skin as she stared at Tenzin. (taken out as a spoiler) held her hand and she allowed the soft
brush of her friend’s influence in her mind. She closed her eyes and listened to the hypnotic voice.
“Meditate. Just like we practiced. Calm. Let yourself relax.”
She drifted, focusing on a picture of Giovanni she held in her mind. It was the single minded look he gave her sometimes. When he was angry. When he made
love to her. When he killed for her. It was the look that told her she was the center of his world.
“I am your balance in this life,” she whispered to him, even though he was not there. “In every life.”
Her eyes flew open when she felt Tenzin’s fangs strike.

The finale is truly brutal and shocking. In each book of this series there are losses and sacrifices making a huge impact on every character, and this book is no exception. I also love how both the main and secondary characters have many facets and are constantly growing in each book. You don't see it often these days. We finally find out about Tenzin's past and why she is so estranged from her vampire's father. We also see more of an enigmatic Baojia, a Chinese assassin training and looking after B.

This is a gorgeous book in a fantastic series and a must read for fans of Anne Rice, Elizabeth Kostova and Dan Brown.

A Hidden Fire - 9.5/10

* * *
Элизабет не подвела как обычно. Действие не только происходит в любимой мною Азии,  но и сконцентрировано всё больше и больше на Би, которую я предпочитаю Джованни. Байохия - китайский вампир-ассассин, и Тензин - одна из древнейших вампиров, обладающая магией Воздуха тренируют Беатрис в боевых искусствах буквально день и ночь.

Би, опасаясь, что Лоренцо снова нанесёт удар, и что она оставаясь человеком, так и будет Ахилессовой пятой Джио продолжает пытаться уговорить его превратить её в вампира. Но Джио совершенно не хочет расставаться с человечностью Би, которую он так любит и старается найти ответ в раскрытии эликсира бессмертия, спрятанного в древнем манускрипте персидского алхимика, за работой которого собственно и охотится главный негодяй серии - Лоренцо.

Пока Совет Восьми Бессмертных ищет дипломатическое решение, чтобы покончить с вековой враждой Джио и Лоренцо, Би побуждает друзей Джио превратить её в вампира пока он спит...

Концовка совершенно шокирует и вызывает слёзы. элизабет не боится убивать своих персонажей, и в каждой из её книг полно жертв, потерь и горя, но от этого они кажутся более жизненными и реалистичными.

Как обычно, я рекомендую не только саму книгу но и всю эту серию, ибо она отлична и уникальна!

9/10

___________________________________________

Giveaway

Elizabeth kindly agreed to give away your choice of ONE ebook in Elemental Mysteries series to ONE winner!


Giveaway is open worldwide and ends on the 14th of March 2012.
You don't need to be a follower to enter.
Good luck!





a Rafflecopter giveaway
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger