If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


Steampunk Western Review: The Native Star by M.K. Hobson

The Native Star by M.K. Hobson (Veneficas Americana #1)


Christmas gift

Synopsis from Goodreads
In the tradition of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, this brilliant first novel fuses history, fantasy, and romance. Prepare to be enchanted by M. K. Hobson’s captivating take on the Wild, Wild West.

The year is 1876. In the small Sierra Nevada settlement of Lost Pine, the town witch, Emily Edwards, is being run out of business by an influx of mail-order patent magics. Attempting to solve her problem with a love spell, Emily only makes things worse. But before she can undo the damage, an enchanted artifact falls into her possession—and suddenly Emily must flee for her life, pursued by evil warlocks who want the object for themselves.

Dreadnought Stanton, a warlock from New York City whose personality is as pompous and abrasive as his name, has been exiled to Lost Pine for mysterious reasons. Now he finds himself involuntarily allied with Emily in a race against time—and across the United States by horse, train, and biomechanical flying machine—in quest of the great Professor Mirabilis, who alone can unlock the secret of the coveted artifact. But along the way, Emily and Stanton will be forced to contend with the most powerful and unpredictable magic of all—the magic of the human heart.


Amazon  US/UK(£4.69) | Amazon kindle US | The Book Depository US/UK(£4.67)

9/10

* * *
This was an excellent steampunk western, and I'd fully recommend it to anyone who loves steampunk or just alternative history adventures.



M.K. Hobson blew me away with her world-building and sassy wonderful main characters. Both Emily and Stanton are a such contradiction as in they are polar opposite to each other it's pure fun to see them try and work together.

Emily is a young witch in a backwater country who can't even make a love spell without it going awry, and Dreadnaught is a stuffy young educated warlock who can't help but lament his exile away from civilised society of New York and point Emily's inadequacies to her.

Of course how it often happens, a magical mining explosion releases a horde of zombie-like creatures and unleashes a magical artifact that embeds itself in Emily's palm, and now the couple will have to travel to New York to help Emily to get rid of it.

However be wary of impending magical disaster, treachery among warlocks, a mounting movement of witch burning and political intrigues while they are at it. Add native American magic, cross-dressing, a villain with a flair, and an embarrassing growing attraction between Emily and Stanton, and you'd get an excellent, wonderful adventure!

Highly recommended.

 * * *
Лихой получился у Хобсон стиманковский вестерн! Добавьте альтернативную Америку 19в. с магией со-существующей с технологическим прогрессом, сложное построение мира, прекрасных драматических героев, замечательного злодея и мешанину различных культур и получите Коренную Звезду.

Эмили - молодая ведьма, живущая в позабытой маленькой деревеньке на Западе, у которой даже приворотное зелье выходит слишком сильным. Дреднот Стэнтон - молодой колдун, обученный в Нью-Йорке и оплакивающий своё изгнание из цивилизации в закулички страны. Оба отличаются как небо и земля и терпеть не могут друг друга.

Однако когда после взрыва на шахте магический артефакт освобождает зомби рабочих из под контроля и вживается в ладонь Эмили, пытающейся этих зомби остановить, Эмили и Стэнтону ничего не остаётся как отправиться в Нью-Йорк, чтобы извлечь артефакт и изучить его возможности.

Однако путь через земли, испещрённые бандитами и индейцами, а также новым движением, выступающим за сожжение ведьм, опасен, а сам Нью-Йорк полон предательств среди колдунов, политических интриг и ассассинов, умеющих населять тела будущих жертв...

Ожидайте погони, перестрелки и перепалки среди неизбежного, растущего между героями влечения, а также эпическую концовку, доказывающую, что Эмили вполне способна постоять за себя сама.

Очень рекомендую и читала с большим удовольствием!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger