If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.

Review: Stolen Night by Rebecca Maizel

Stolen Night by Rebecca Maizel (Vampire Queen #2)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Lenah Beaudonte should be dead. But having sacrificed herself to save another, she finds herself awakening with strange powers that are neither vampire nor human—and a new enemy on her trail. In her vampire life, Lenah had thought that being human was all she ever wanted; but the human heart suffers pain, heartbreak and loss.

With her new powers growing and the dark force of the Nex after her soul, Lenah faces a choice: between the mortal love of gorgeous Justin, whose passion fed her human soul, and taking a different path to become the mistress of her own destiny, wherever that may lead...


Amazon  US/UK(£4.89) | Amazon kindle US($6.75)/UK(£4.19) | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond 

9/10

* * *
 I remember how awe-struck I was by Infinite Days, peeps. 

Here she was, a 600-year old vampire Queen, driven mad by her inability to feel anything but hunger for blood and torturous memories of her love for Rhode, a vampire who turned her and left her, because he couldn't bear to see the monster she became...

Review: Alexander Outland: Space Pirate by G.J. Koch

Alexander Outland: Space Pirate by G.J. Koch

won from Bastard Books

Synopsis from Goodreads
Captain Alexander Outland of the Sixty-Nine (short for Space Vessel 3369, of course) is the best pilot in the galaxy. He’s also a pirate, a smuggler, and loved and loathed by women in umpteen solar systems. His crew of strays and misfits includes an engineer of dubious sanity, a deposed planetary governor, an annoyingly unflappable Sexbot copilot, and a slinky weapons chief who stubbornly refuses to give the captain a tumble.

Outland just wants to make a decent living skirting the law, but when an invisible space armada starts cutting into his business, he soon finds himself in hot water with the military, the mob, mad bombers, and an extended family of would-be conquerors. And that’s not counting an occasionally telepathic spy . . .

Like any sensible scoundrel, he hates heroics. They’re risky and they don’t pay well. But to keep his ship and crew in one piece, and make time with a certain hard-to-get weapons chief, he might just have to make an exception–and save the galaxy in spite of himself!


 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
  Alexander Napoleon Outland, Nap for short, is a riot. Excuse me while I take a huge step back from this book and convulse with laughter.

It was so so funny and silly and full of action and comic relief, - a much needed book for the upcoming winter months. If you love Han Solo and Serenity, this is a must read.

Review: Masque of The Red Death by Bethany Griffin

Masque of The Red Death by Bethany Griffin (Masque of The Red Death #1)

won from Gollanz

Synopsis from Goodreads
Everything is in ruins.

A devastating plague has decimated the population. And those who are left live in fear of catching it as the city crumbles to pieces around them.

So what does Araby Worth have to live for?

Nights in the Debauchery Club, beautiful dresses, glittery make-up . . . and tantalizing ways to forget it all.

But in the depths of the club—in the depths of her own despair—Araby will find more than oblivion. She will find Will, the terribly handsome proprietor of the club. And Elliott, the wickedly smart aristocrat. Neither boy is what he seems. Both have secrets. Everyone does.

And Araby may find something not just to live for, but to fight for—no matter what it costs her.


Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US($2.99!)/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
 Beautiful, dark and poetic, - I really enjoyed this book. Bethany Griffin painted a grim picture of the world bleak and desolate, world consumed by plague, cities falling to ruin, dead on the streets, children with no future because their parents can't afford masks which filter the air you breathe and therefore offer some protection from the disease...

Book Buying Ban week #12

It's almost Halloween, peeps! I certainly carved my pumpkin into a tiny vampire yesterday...
What are you doing on All Hallows' Eve apart from working?

Here is what I managed to READ this week:


THE MASQUE OF THE RED DEATH was such a pleasure to read! Great plot, interesting characters, beautiful. ALEXANDER OUTLAND: SPACE PIRATE was one incorrigible wicked fun of a book. Nap, the main character comes out as a womanizer in the beginning, but he is an insanely talented hero with a soft heart. I just loved him. Total Han Solo. STOLEN NIGHT stole my breath away! I've waited for 2 freaking years until its release and it was so well worth it. At last, PLANESRUNNER was one of my favorites of 2012. What a fabulous book, sci-fi, steampunk, electropunk, colourful language, so vivid and plain gorgeous!

DNF:

A pity, but me and this book just didn't get along at all in the first 20 pages. The main character's trail of thought was too bizarre for my liking, although the book is getting good reviews. It just wasn't for me.

TOTAL:

40 books (1 for review) left!

I'm not on holiday I know but I totally caved in last night when I saw Tiffany Reisz's Twitter update that THE PRINCE is now available on Netgalley and downloaded it. I want this book so bad I'm shaking, so this was no negotiable for me :)

Happy reading to me!

At last, to all new followers through the blog hop, WELCOME!

Spooktacular Giveaway Hop is still going and ends 31st of October.
I also have a giveaway of 2 spooky horror reads from Rob Blackwell which ends on 1st of November. I read his first novel A Soul to Steal last October, and believe me, - you do not want to read him at night in the empty house. That book scared me!
______________________________________

I've spotted a couple of awesome posts last week and wanted to share. Lori from Pure Imagination recommended Vampire Books for Readers Who Are Sick of Vampire Books. Apart from one read on that list, all the books are my favorites! Heather from The Flyleaf Review explained why she loves a bad girl in YA literature. Watch out for her blog, she discusses some amazing topics.

Last thing, I promise! 
  I AM DYING to watch this new steampunk movie. It looks freaking awesome, don't you agree?


Happy Sunday!

My Real Life Horror Story, A Guest Post and A Giveaway from Rob Blackwell

Source
  Hi, peeps! Let me introduce you to ROB BLACKWELL, a brilliantly spooky horror writer, whose debut novel A Soul To Steal I reviewed last year and absolutely loved.
Me and Rob, we seem to have started a tradition of scary guest posts close to Halloween. Last year we talked about the nature of fear and mythology in Rob's book.
This year he is sharing a creepy story from his past... 

The most chilling tales are the true ones.
Most of the time when I write scary stories, I’m using my imagination. But one night several years ago, I was living one. 

My family and I were spending the night at a remote cabin deep in the North Woods of Michigan. The house is miles away from civilization, off a long dirt road that few others visit. I’ve always felt safe there, but every so often I’ve had the same nightmare: someone lurking outside the house in the dark, watching me.

On this particular evening, though, I wasn’t thinking about that. My parents had gone out for the evening to a neighbor’s house a few miles down the road. My infant son was in bed and, thankfully, already asleep. My wife and I had just gone to bed as well.

 When I heard the phone ringing, I assumed it was my parents telling me they were heading home.
I got up, a little groggy but not quite asleep, and answered the phone. I wasn’t prepared for what I heard next.
“I’m going to kill you,” the man said. 
The weird thing about that moment was how unreal it felt even while it was happening to me. My first response, instead of fear, was sheer confusion. You want to kill me? Why? I’m really very nice. 

When I didn’t respond immediately, the man grew louder—and angrier.
“I’m going to f*cking kill you!” he said again.
I stood there in stunned silence and started watching the woods. The thing about the North Woods is that it is pitch black out there. Looking out the window was like staring at a black wall. I couldn’t see a damn thing. I was acutely aware that there really could be someone out there and I wouldn’t know.

Review: Deliverance by Dakota Banks

Deliverance by Dakota Banks (Mortal Path #3)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Kill . . . or be damned.

A demon's assassin for centuries, Maliha Crayne has gone rogue, determined to save a life for every one she's destroyed in order to free herself from an eternity of enslavement, damnation, and excruciating torment. But as the powers that sustained her in the past fade, she is wary of trusting those closest to her--especially her lover, Jake. And her closest friends are beginning to disappear, one by one. Amid her anger, suspicion, and sorrow, her life is spiraling out of control.

Worse still, a beautiful Renaissance murderess is recruiting Maliha as her new assassin. Maliha is turning into a lethal puppet with an evil Immortal pulling the strings, forced to kill innocents or see her missing friends die horribly. Suddenly trapped in a moral no-man's-land, Maliha is damned if she does and damned if she doesn't . . . and time is rapidly running out.


 Amazon  US/UK (£4.95) | Amazon kindle US($4.74) | The Book Depository US/UK

9.5/10

* * *
 Absolutely mind-blowing book! Dakota Banks writes one of the best urban fantasy series I've ever read, fast, brutal, unapologetic, with a very unique mythology and a delightful main heroine who reminds me  of a female version of Indiana Jones.

Kindle UK Autumn Sale!

Hi, peeps! Anyone from UK have a look at this gorgeous sale...











I hope you find something you like! I especially recommend Storm Front, first book in excellent Harry Dresden series :)

Review: Wither by Lauren DeStefano

Wither by Lauren DeStefano (The Chemical Garden #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
By age sixteen, Rhine Ellery has four years left to live. She can thank modern science for this genetic time bomb. A botched effort to create a perfect race has left all males with a lifespan of 25 years, and females with a lifespan of 20 years. 

Geneticists are seeking a miracle antidote to restore the human race, desperate orphans crowd the population, crime and poverty have skyrocketed, and young girls are being kidnapped and sold as polygamous brides to bear more children. 

When Rhine is kidnapped and sold as a bride, she vows to do all she can to escape. Her husband, Linden, is hopelessly in love with her, and Rhine can’t bring herself to hate him as much as she’d like to. He opens her to a magical world of wealth and illusion she never thought existed, and it almost makes it possible to ignore the clock ticking away her short life. But Rhine quickly learns that not everything in her new husband’s strange world is what it seems. Her father-in-law, an eccentric doctor bent on finding the antidote, is hoarding corpses in the basement. Her fellow sister wives are to be trusted one day and feared the next, and Rhine is desperate to communicate to her twin brother that she is safe and alive. Will Rhine be able to escape--before her time runs out?

Together with one of Linden's servants, Gabriel, Rhine attempts to escape just before her seventeenth birthday. But in a world that continues to spiral into anarchy, is there any hope for freedom?


 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK(£1.99) | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

7.5/10

* * *
Funny thing about Wither, it was good and bad at the same time. Pretty depressing, but captivating and poetic read. I would say, if you like this one you should read The Selection by Kiera Cass, although America had guts not like Rhine who just talked the talk but didn't walk the walk until the very end.

Spooktacular Giveaway Hop is Here Again!!!

Hello, everyone!
You know this one is my favorite of all the hops out there, and this is my second year of participating in the awesomeness :) Thanks to Kathy from I'm A Reader, Not A Writer and Rhianna from The Diary of The Bookworm for making this hop possible!

To all my readers, hello again! To all the chaps new to this blog, - my giveaways are always international with very few exceptions. Following isn't necessary, however do come back and say hello if you decide the books I review is your cup of tea :)

Here is what I'm giving away


There will be TWO winners for ONE book each from this list.
The giveaway is open to all. 
My only request is that if you live somewhere The Book Depository doesn't ship check if Fishpond.com has the book you want in stock, because I'll be ordering from there.
Good luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Click READ MORE to see the rest of the participants!

Review: The Lost Stones by Paul Rimmasch

The Lost Stones by Paul Rimmasch

review request

Synopsis from Goodreads
1600s Mexico- The Aztec Prince Ixtililxochitl writes that the first people to inhabit his land came from the Tower of Babel at the dividing of tongues…Scholars dismiss his writings as myth.
-----
1800s Mid Western United States- Settlers dig into ancient burial mounds and discover thousands of slate tablets covered with a strange hieroglyphic writing and drawings depicting Jesus Christ…these artifacts are denounced as a hoax.
-----
1909 Arizona-a newspaper runs a story describing how a cave containing metal artifacts and Egyptian-type hieroglyphics was discovered in the Grand Canyon by a group of Scientists from the Smithsonian Institute…the Smithsonian categorically denies the account.
-----
These and other amazing facts make up the world of forbidden Book of Mormon Archaeology. It is a world BYU student and Iraqi War veteran Ammon Rogers never knew existed. He is thrust headlong into this world when he asks the enigmatic adventurer John Byrd a simple question. When John is kidnapped in Mexico, Ammon joins forces with John’s beautiful daughter in a desperate attempt to not only save John, but to find his answer…an answer that will change the world…an answer one sinister foe will do anything to suppress.


 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK

6.5/10

* * *
 You know how long it took me to read this book? A very long time! Is it because it was bad? NO. The topic was simply so fascinating I kept spending a lot of time online researching it :D

That's the strong part of this book - it's unique topic, because let's face it: how often a blogger like me will read an archaeological conspiracy involving lost civilisations and their ancient technologies, The Book of Mormon and evil corporations covering up the research into alternative sources of energies? Not very often.

Early Review: Building from Ashes by Elizabeth Hunter

Building from Ashes by Elizabeth Hunter (Elemental World #1)

review request

Synopsis from Goodreads
For a thousand years, powerful earth vampire Carwyn ap Bryn has served others. God. His family. His friends. But tragedy and loss disrupt his peaceful existence, causing him to question everything he has committed his eternity to.

Brigid Connor has known about vampires since they rescued her from a painful childhood. But not even their vast elemental power can save her from the demons that torment her.

As loyalties are tested and new paths are forged, a lurking danger slowly grows in the Elemental World. Carwyn and Brigid will learn that even secrets revealed can come back to haunt you when you least expect it.

A continuation/spinoff of the Elemental Mysteries series. The timeline in this books stretches from BEFORE A Hidden Fire starts (so you see a little character history) until AFTER A Fall of Water finishes. As I’m sure lots of you could tell, Carwyn had quite a few things going on in his life that didn’t make it into Gio and Beatrice’s story. So Building From Ashes explores that storyline and also sets up the Elemental World for some new adventures...


 Amazon kindle US($3.99)/UK(£2.58)| Smashwords

8.5/10

* * *

Every time I read anything Elizabeth writes I can't help but immerse myself in her gorgeous, captivating and lively world of elemental vampires completely, so her books for me are always a treat.

Book Buying Ban week#11


You have to check out Trey Ratcliff's amazing HDR photography, peeps! Not only his website Stuck in Customs is a joy to look at, it's all under Creative Commons license, so you can actually use it on your blog.

I hope you are having a fantastic weekend!

Here is what I read last week:


DELIVERANCE was a mind-blowing brutal adventure of a book, as it always happens when I read Dakota Banks,  BUILDING FROM ASHES is a new spin-off from Elemental Vampires novels by Elizabeth Hunter. While it's not as fascinating as Gio and Beatrice's story, it's still a very good paranormal mystery romance. At last, WITHER was a gripping, engaging and creepy novel which I liked despite my reservations about the main heroine, and THE LOST STONES made me dig into a fascinating topic which I don't know much about at all.

DNF:

Unfortunately, THE MAGE was the last book in series I was unfamiliar with. It might have made more sense to someone else, but from 80 pages I've read it was bland, had zero spark between the main characters and involved too much talk. I happily donated it to my local library.

SCORE:
 45 books left (2 for review)

Three things which blew my mind last week:

1. Colonel Meow
That cat is amazing! Named the world's grumpiest cat, he calls his fans minions, loves his scotch and generally cultivates his look of a devil's spawn.

2. Bodyform
Bodyform's amazing response to someone's complaint on Facebook, that their adverts lied about happy periods. Fabulous marketing, I would buy their product just for this!


3. Agnes Obel
Such a fantastic, magical voice!


This is it.
Kimberly your cake is in the post to the amusement of the clerk in Royal Mail.

Keep an eye on this blog next week, folks, because this is what's coming...


Ciao! Happy Sunday!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

GFC Widget stopped showing or appears only on special occasions on many blogspot blogs since the beginning of March 2012, but you can still subscribe to my GFC HERE. Thank you!


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

A Token of Appreciation

Just a little note to you all,our dear readers!
If any of you desire to show your support to this blog you can donate through Paypal to chai_s_calinoi at yahoo dot co dot uk or buy a book through any of these links The Book Depository UK/US, Amazon UK/US which will send us a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards the international giveaways here on NBR.
Thank you!

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger

Noteworthy Blogs