If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


Fantasy Romance Review: The Winter King by C.L. Wilson

The Winter King by C.L. Wilson (Weathermages of Mistral #1)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
After three long years of war, starkly handsome Wynter Atrialan will have his vengeance on Summerlea's king by taking one of the man's beautiful, beloved daughters as his bride. But though peace is finally at hand, Wynter's battle with the Ice Heart, the dread power he embraced to avenge his brother's death, rages on.

Khamsin Coruscate, Princess of Summerlea and summoner of Storms, has spent her life exiled to the shadows of her father's palace. Reviled by her father, marriage to Wintercraig's icy king was supposed to be a terrible punishment, but instead offers Kham her first taste of freedom—and her first taste of overwhelming passion.

As fierce, indomitable Wynter weathers even Khamsin's wildest storms, surprising her with a tenderness she never expected, Kham wants more than Wynter's passion—she yearns for his love. But the power of the Ice Heart is growing, dangerous forces are gathering, and a devastating betrayal puts Khamsin and Wynter to the ultimate test.


 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

9/10

* * *
 I've had this book on my kindle for so long that I want to smack myself silly for not reading it sooner because it was aaahmaaazing!


A fantasy romance for fans of Amy Raby, Grace Draven, Elizabeth Vaughn, old Johanna Lindsey and Judith McNaught. Trust me, you'll enjoy it very much. *grinning* The formula is the same: sworn enemy clan leaders/warlords/princes/insert your own are thrown together in a political marriage and through a lot of adversity and misunderstandings they fall head over heels for each other in a spectacular and epic way.

Khamsin is a black sheep of the royal family of Summerlea. Her psycho father hates her and blames her for her mother's death due to her unpredictable powers when she was a toddler. She is kept away in a tower and hardly anyone knows she exists.

Wynter, a king of Wintercraig has been betrayed and badly wronged by Khamsin's brother who ran away with his betrothed and a relic, in the process killing Wynter's beloved younger brother. Three years later much changed and hardened Wynter demolishes Summerlea and comes to its capital to claim his prize - a princess of Summerlea, whose future son will unite both kingdoms.

The catch is that Wynter borrowed an inhuman power from Wintercraig's gods to win the war, and he is slowly turning into a monster. He probably has no more than a year to live, which is why he is in a rush to marry and bed a princess so his achievements will live on. Thus the conditions of his peace treaty are harsh, and the Summerlea's king's way of sticking it to the conqueror is to secretly force on him his cursed forgotten daughter.

Of course Wynter and Khamsin accidentally meet before the wedding and the chemistry between them is sizzling, but he thinks he marries one of the soft and refined princesses he met, while in reality he gets a wild, stubborn and very powerful weathermage girl who is exactly the right person to bring him back to life.

Basically, be still my heart! This is an epic love story. Also Khamsin is a badass fighter and has one hell of a temper, and these two go through some fantastic fight sequences with local monsters.

Fast-paced, vivid, action-packed fantasy with delicious character development, The Winter King became one of my top reads of 2016, and I wholeheartedly recommend it. It's priced very decently as an ebook. Go read it!

* * *
Поверить не могу, что я по-дурацки так долго держала эту книгу на киндле, не подозревая, насколько она здоровская. Это шикарный фэнтезийный роман, в который влюбятся поклонники творчества Эми Раби, Грэйс Дрэйвен, Элизавет Вон, Джоанны Линдсей и Джудит Макнот.

Здесь присутствует та же формула успеха: враги из разных кланов/королевств/вставьте свой вариант вынуждены вступить в политический брак, проходят через кучу препятствий и недоразумений, пока их союз не превращается в эпичную и великолепную историю любви.

Камзин - чёрная овца королевской семьи Саммерли. Её существование держится в тайне, так как её псих отец обвиняет её в смерти матери из-за её непредсказуемых талантов погодного мага, которые вышли из под её контроля в детском возрасте.

Винтер - король Винтеркрэйг, который потерял наречённую и святыню своего королевства, а также младшего брата, которого он очень любил, по вине брата Камзин. Три года спустя он завоёвывает Саммерли и диктует очень жёсткие правила сдачи, среди которых женитьба на одной из принцесс Саммерли, ребёнок которой будет в будущем править обоими королевствами.

Дело в том, что у Винтера есть все причины для спешки. Для того, чтобы выиграть войну он позаимствовал дары своих богов, которые медленно превращают его в монстра, и ему осталось жить не больше года. Ему неважно, на какой из принцесс он женится, главное, чтобы церемония прошла быстро.

Потирая руки, озлоблённый король Саммерли тайком всовывает ему дочку изгоя, которую он перед этим избил до полусмерти, чтобы она на брак согласилась. Но Винтер и Камзин уже случайно встретились, хотя он и не подозревает кто она, и искры между ними так и сыпятся.

Камзин - шикарная героиня, упрямая, волевая, талантливая, с гневливым характером из-за своей магической натуры, которая повелевает штормами и грозами. Она к тому же - бесстрашный воин, и Винтер в неё влюбляется по уши!

Готовьтесь в страстным перепалкам, жгучему сексу, превосходно выписанным боям и очень вкусному развитию персонажей. Скучать вам будет некогда. Для меня Зимний Король безусловно оказался одной из лучших книг года.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger