If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


Friday Mini Reviews #54: J.D. Robb, Caroline Hanson & Jessie Burton



Vengeance in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #6)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
He is a madman with the mind of a genius and an expert with technology who stalks his prey, then taunts the police. Eve Dallas found the first dead man in his own home and the second in a vacant apartment. They both had links with a secret.
Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8.5/10

This is a pivotal book in Eve/Somerset relationship. He finally sees her as an asset to Roarke and as a good human being despite all her shortcomings. Great mystery story as well!
* * *
Это поворотная книга в отношениях между Ив и Сомерсетом. Он наконец-то понимает, что в ней видит Роарк и примиряется с её присутствием в его жизни. Да и сам детективчик хорош!

Love is Darkness by Caroline Hanson (Valerie Dearborn #1)

kindle freebie

Synopsis from Goodreads

Valerie Dearborn wants a cotton candy life filled with light sweetness, but it’s more like a puffer fish: pointy, unusual, and—if not prepared exactly right—deadly.

In London for graduate school, Val knows she's finally free. Her father and ex-almost-boyfriend are back in California and she's out of the Vampire hunting biz for good. Or is she?

She draws the attention of Lucas, a 1600 year old Vampire, and King to his kind. He’s also wicked hot. As golden as Lucifer, and just as tempting, he makes Valerie an offer she can't refuse— help him find out if the Others (Empaths, Fey and Werewolves) still exist or he'll stop protecting those she loves.

Lucas tells her that Empaths were a Vampire’s biggest weakness before going extinct hundreds of years ago. While the Fey or a Werewolf might kill a Vampire, an Empath could enslave them, seducing or harming with emotions at will. The one detail he leaves out? Valerie is an Empath.

And after 1600 years of an emotionless existence, Lucas wants Valerie like a recovering alcoholic wants a wine cooler.

Can she keep those she loves alive, stop Lucas from munching on her, survive a fanged revolution and still find a way to have that boring, normal life she’s always wanted? Probably not, but boy is she gonna try!

This is a full length novel and contains adult content.
Audible UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
7.5/10

Carmel from Rabid Read recommended this series, and I quite enjoyed the first book. It's not overly melodramatic, and the vampires in it are believable. They are bored,capricious and ruthless. The fans of D.B. Reynolds and Laurel K. Hamilton should appreciate it.
* * *
 Знакомый мне блог порекомендовал эту серию, и первая книга мне понравилась. Вампиры здесь умирают от скуки, капризны и кровожадны, так что придутся по вкусу любителям Д.Б. Рейнольдс и Лорелл К. Гамильтон.

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton 

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam-a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion-a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed..."

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office-leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist-an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand-and fear-the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.
 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
7.5/10

It is a really pretty book to read, beautifully written, gloomy, quirky and atmospheric. I know a lot of people had trouble with slow narration, but on audio it worked really well. The characters is the strength of this book, weird, wonderful and so very different from each other.
* * *
 Это красивая книга, передающая атмосферу истеричной нервозности, мрачная и экцентричная. Я знаю, что многим не понравилось очень медленное развитие сюжета, однако в аудио формате слушалась эта книга превосходно. Сила Миниатюриста в его замечательных, сильных и интересных характерах. Читайте!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger