If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


YA Fantasy Review: Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Uprooted by Naomi Novik 


hardcopy courtesy of Pan/Macmillan

Synopsis from Goodreads
Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, ambitious wizard, known only as the Dragon, to keep the wood's powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman must be handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as being lost to the wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows - everyone knows - that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia - all the things Agnieszka isn't - and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But no one can predict how or why the Dragon chooses a girl. And when he comes, it is not Kasia he will take with him.

From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.

 Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

9.5/10

* * * 
You know how sometimes you recognize a great book from the first few pages? Well, I opened this book and within the first few sentences I just knew Uprooted would be fabulous. And it was! Delicious, glorious, kick ass, sharp-tongued and really, really refreshing. I wanted to give this book a big hug and didn't want it to end.



I have never read Naomi Novik before and didn't quite know what to expect. I shouldn't have worried because I quite easily can compare her to Melina Marchetta and Catherynne M. Valente in the way she comes off youthful and and the same time very wise in her narration. Her characters have layers upon layers and there are no clear cut villains here. They are villains due to unfortunate circumstances, and when they get a chance for redemption, they take it.

The world-building and mythology here is based on late medieval Poland, and as I am familiar with many Eastern European fairytales, I enjoyed recognizing them in this book immensely. 

Agnieszka is a young peasant girl who grew up on the edge of the Wood - a malevolent forest which kills and contaminates everything it touches with its evil mind. The only force which can protect her valley is a wizard called Dragon, who lives in the tower and watches over them so he can intervene into frequent attacks from the Wood.

The price for his help is a tribute in various goods, but also every 10 years he takes one girl from the Valley as his servant. This year it's Agnieszka's age group turn, and everyone expects Dragon to take Kasia - the best, most talented and beautiful girl from the flock, and Agnieszka's best friend. To her surprise the taciturn, rude man chooses her.

Bewildered and lonely, Agnieszka is unprepared for the role of Dragon's personal servant. Kasia was the one who learned everything. Nieshka is dirty, chaotic, accident-prone and clueless... which drives OCD Dragon, controlled, orderly man, up the wall, until Nieshka tries to read a book she took from the library and starts a Summoning. 

It appears, his dirty servant is a budding witch, and by law, the wizard has to start teaching her the craft. What follows brings a huge smale on reader's face when these two such opposite characters clash. To make matters worse, Agnieszka's magic is wild like of the legendary Baba Jaga, and she goes by feel instead of following precise instructions. Did I mention an OCD wizard?! *grinning*

But the master and his apprentice don't have much time. The Wood goes onto offensive and starts a very twisted campaign to purge the Valley from humans once and for all. This book is dark, gory, beautifully descriptive, full of action, and Agnieszka simply kicks ass.

An amazing read, gorgeous ending, highly recommended. This is one of my highlights of the year.


* * *
Знаете, как иногда вы понимаете, что книга будет замечательной с пары первых страниц? Так вот, Вырванная с Корнем оказалась как раз такой книгой, причем, чтобы понять это мне хватило первых двух предложений. 

Шикарная, светлая, милая и безумно прекрасная сказка, построенная на польском фольклоре позднего средневековья, эта история рассказывает о героях маленького феодального государства, граничащего с Глухолесьем - злым лесом, который крадёт жизни поселенцев долины своим ядовитым волшебством.

Единственная защита от Глухолесья в долине это Дракон - волшебник, живущий в высокой башне и дающий отпор атакам тёмного волшебства. За свои услуги он принимает оброк в качестве разнообразных товаров и каждые десять лет выбирает себе юную девушку долины в прислуги.

Агнежка - крестьянская девушка, живущая в деревне на границе с Глухолесьем. Все девушки её возраста в Долине знают, что в этом году Дракон выберет новую служанку, и служанкой этой станет Кася - самая красивая, талантливая и умная девица поселенцев, которая приходится Нежке лучшей подругой. Однако забирает с собой Дракон ко всеобщему удивлению Агнежку.

Заброшенная в пустую башню, совершенно неподготовленная к служению Дракону,  Нежка не знает как готовить изысканные блюда, красиво одеваться или завести вежливую беседу. Дракон ворчлив, груб и страдает обсессивно-компульсивным расстройством. Нежка - неряшлива, бестолкова и жутко скучает по дому.  И так бы они и страдали в присутствии друг друга если бы не начала она читать книгу, одолженную в его библиотеке и случайно не заплела заклинание.

Оказывается Агнежка - ведьма, и по закону Дракон вынужден начать её обучать. Как вы понимаете, с такими разными характерами перья так и летят, и читателю только и остаётся смеяться. 

Однако обучение юной ведьмочки быстро обрывается, так как Глухолесье начинает сложную атаку на жителей долины, и Дракону и его подмастерью понадобятся вся их смекалка и умение, чтобы его остановить и порознь и вместе.

Книга неожиданно брутальная, кровавая, но очень завораживающая. Наоми Новик, с которой до этого я была незнакома, напоминает мне Кэтрин М. Валент и Мелину Марчетту, так как слог её умудряется быть молодым и в то же время мудрым, характеры многосложны, а злодеи выбирают свой путь в силу обстоятельств, и готовы с него свернуть, если им дан шанс прощения и искупления грехов.

Читайте, ибо надо.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger