If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


Romantic Suspense Release Day Review: Non-Stop Till Tokyo by K.J. Charles

Non-Stop Till Tokyo by K.J. Charles


Egalley thanks to Samhain Publishing, Ltd.

Synopsis from Goodreads
A man with a past is her only hope for the future.

Kerry Ekdahl’s mixed heritage and linguistics skills could have made her a corporate star. Instead, she’s a hostess in a high-end Tokyo bar, catering to businessmen who want conversation, translation and flirtation. Easy money, no stress. Life is good—until she’s framed for the murder of a yakuza boss.

Trapped in rural Japan with the gangsters closing in, Kerry doesn’t stand a chance. Then help arrives in the menacing form of Chanko, a Samoan-American ex-sumo wrestler with a bad attitude, a lot of secrets, and a mission she doesn’t understand.

Kerry doesn’t get involved with dangerous men. Then again, she’s never had one on her side before. And the big, taciturn fighter seems determined to save her life, even if they rub each other the wrong way.

Then her friends are threatened, and Kerry has no choice but to return to Tokyo and face the yakuza. Where she learns, too late, that the muscle man who’s got her back could be poised to stab it.

Warning: Contains graphic violence, swearing, and implied sexual abuse.


Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
 I did not expect that from K.J. Charles, that's for sure! This is an adrenaline-fueled, gloriously action-packed thriller in the best tradition of Hardboiled, and you can be sure I was in heaven reading it!


Fantasy Romance Early Review: The Shattered Court by M.J. Scott

The Shattered Court by M.J. Scott (A Novel of The Four Arts #1)


Egalley thanks to Roc

Synopsis from Goodreads
First in a new fantasy series from the author of the Novels of the Half-Light City.

Entangled in a court ruled by tradition and intrigue, a young witch must come to terms with newfound power and desire—and a choice between loyalty and survival.…

The royal witches of Anglion have bowed to tradition for centuries. If a woman of royal blood manifests powers, she is immediately bound by rites of marriage. She will serve her lord by practicing the tamer magics of the earth—ensuring good harvests and predicting the weather. Any magic more dangerous is forbidden.

Lady Sophia Kendall, thirty-second in line to the throne, is only days away from finding out if she will be blessed—or perhaps cursed—with magic. When a vicious attack by Anglion’s ancient enemies leaves the kingdom in chaos, Sophia is forced to flee the court. Her protector by happenstance is Lieutenant Cameron Mackenzie, a member of the royal guard, raised all his life to be fiercely loyal to the Crown.

Then Sophia’s powers manifest stronger than she ever imagined they would, and Cameron and she are inextricably linked in the process. As a witch unbound by marriage rites, Sophia is not only a threat to the established order of her country, but is also a weapon for those who seek to destroy it. Faced with old secrets and new truths, she must decide if she will fight for her country or succumb to the delicious temptation of power.…


Release date: April 28th 2015
Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository 

7.5/10

* * *
Alright, I am torn about this one. On one hand I liked it. It had such potential in the main characters and world-building.

NA Contemporary Romance Early Review: Heat by Penny Reid

Heat by Penny Reid (Elements of Chemistry #2)


Ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads

Elements of Chemistry: HEAT is part 2 of a 3 part series (65k word novel) and ends in a cliffhanger.

**Blurb contains spoilers if you haven’t read Elements of Chemistry: ATTRACTION**
Four days left.
Private beach (…and boat).
Not so invisible girl.
And maybe less of a jerk-faced bully than originally thought.
What’s the worst (or the best) that could happen?

Kaitlyn is finding life outside of the science cabinet of obscurity to be quite illuminating …and so are her pants.
When things heat up between Kaitlyn Parker and Martin—previously known as the jerk-faced bully—Sandeke, she places her trust in the one person she never thought capable of earning it, let alone keeping it safe. Fortunately or unfortunately for Kaitlyn, where she gives her trust she can’t help but also give her heart.

But how will the world beyond the sanctuary of their newfound connection react to their relationship? Soon senators, chinless billionaires, and elements beyond Martin and Kaitlyn’s control want to weigh in on the young couple’s future.

Navigating the chaotic inferno of new love might be more than Kaitlyn bargained for, and much, much more than her trust—or her heart—can handle.
 

Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

* * *

In my opinion, Heat was even better than Attraction. It's definitely getting angstier, the more Katy and Martin relationship progresses, and it's also more complex.

YA Fantasy Romance Review: Lord of The White Hell Series by Ginn Hale

Lord of The White Hell by Ginn Hale (Lord of The White Hell #1)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Kiram Kir-Zaki may be considered a mechanist prodigy among his own people, but when he becomes the first Haldiim ever admitted to the prestigious Sagrada Academy, he is thrown into a world where power, superstition and swordplay outweigh even the most scholarly of achievements.

But when the intimidation from his Cadeleonian classmates turns bloody, Kiram unexpectedly finds himself befriended by Javier Tornesal, the leader of a group of cardsharps, duelists and lotharios who call themselves Hellions.

However Javier is a dangerous friend to have. Wielder of the White Hell and sole heir of a dukedom, he is surrounded by rumors of forbidden seductions, murder and damnation. His enemies are many and any one of his secrets could not only end his life but Kiram's as well.

Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

  Lord of The White Hell by Ginn Hale (Lord of The White Hell #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Kiram fought his family and Cadeleonian bigots to remain in the Sagrada Academy to prove himself as a mechanist and to dispel the deadly shadow curse that threatens to destroy his upperclassman, Javier Tornesal.

But when his efforts provoke retaliation, Kiram’s family and home are endangered. Both Kiram and Javier risk everything in a desperate gambit to combat the curse.

But they never imagined their battle would come so soon, or that it would be led by the one person they trust most of all.
 
Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
 Lord of The White Hell was recommended to me after I finished Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat and desperately craved something similar.

Urban Fantasy Review: Nice Dragons Finish Last by Rachel Aaron

Nice Dragons Finish Last by Rachel Aaron (Heartstrikers #1)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
As the smallest dragon in the Heartstriker clan, Julius survives by a simple code: keep quiet, don’t cause trouble, and stay out of the way of bigger dragons. But this meek behavior doesn't fly in a family of ambitious magical predators, and his mother, Bethesda the Heartstriker, has finally reached the end of her patience.

Now, sealed in human form and banished to the DFZ--a vertical metropolis built on the ruins of Old Detroit--Julius has one month to prove that he can be a ruthless dragon or kiss his true shape goodbye forever. But in a city of modern mages and vengeful spirits where dragons are considered monsters to be exterminated, he’s going to need some serious help to survive this test.

He only hopes humans are more trustworthy than dragons...

Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
 “So far as I can tell, 'good dragon' is just another name for coldblooded sociopath," he said. "No friends, no trust, no love. Why would I ever want to live like that? It's not like any of you good dragons are happy.” 

 Julius is a bad dragon. He stays away from his family's brutal machinations, he is fast because he likes to run away while other dragons fight each other, and he is content to stay in his dungeon and play computer games all day long. All in all, he is adorable.

The Postman Knock #120

Hello, peeps!
How is things with you?
I am knackered again. We've been working on making the barn into a habitable bedroom, and I did couple of days of pointing the stone walls with cement. Love the job, especially with an audiobook in my ear, but I am tired. Add to this taking up cycling again... You can draw the picture yourself :)))

READ/LISTENED TO:


MASTER OF THE OPERA #1 was a very, very short read. to be honest I will need to read more to form any sort of an opinion... RELUCTANT CONCUBINE was not as good as everyone is saying. Nice barbarian vibe, but I wasn't convinced by the main couple love for each other and by the mistakes they made. TURN COAT was good and CHANGES was awesome!What a fantastic installment!!! THE SHATTERED COURT was nice, but felt like an introduction to the series, not a full book. At last, WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON was totally crazy but lovely at the end. I was out of my comfort zone, but it was an interesting experience.

NETGALLEY:

I would read anything Sherry writes, so I jumped to request this one!

BOUGHT:

I am gutted that Ghost Story isn't narrated by Marsters!!! It's so hard to listen, and it's a loooong book.
I also splashed out on something I wanted to read for ages...

What can I say? Dragons make me happy.

IN OTHER NEWS:

Congrats to Zainab for winning a copy of Deception, and thanks to everyone who participated!



Friday Mini Reviews #40: Jacqueline Carey, Jim Butcher & Sherry Thomas


Kushiel's Mercy by Jacqueline Carey (Imriel's Trilogy #3)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Having learned a lesson about thwarting the will of the gods, Imriel and Sidonie publicly confess their affair, only to see the country boil over in turmoil. Younger generations, infatuated by their heart-twisting, star-cross romance, defend the couple. Many others cannot forget the betrayals of Imriel's mother, Melisande, who plunged their country into a bloody war that cost the lives of their fathers, brothers, and sons.

To quell the unrest, Ysandre, the queen, sets her decree. She will not divide the lovers, yet neither will she acknowledge them. If they marry, Sidonie will be disinherited, losing her claim on the throne.

There's only one way they can truly be together. Imriel must perform an act of faith: search the world for his infamous mother and bring her back to Terre d'Ange to be executed for treason.

Facing a terrible choice, Imriel and Sidonie prepare ruefully for another long separation. But when a dark foreign force casts a shadow over Terre d'Ange and all the surrounding countries, their world is turned upside down, alliances of the unlikeliest kind are made, and Imriel and Sidonie learn that the god Elua always puts hearts together apurpose.

 Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
9/10

My favourite book in this series, this was an amazing story! Oh Miss Carey, sometimes the scope of your imagination makes me dissolve into a teary eyed, babbling creature. When Imriel had to go to a faraway land to make Sidonie fall in love with him all over again in a different skin with no memory of her ties to him due to an evil enchantment, that was... truly EPIC! Hugely recommended series! What a couple...
* * *
Моя любимейшая книга серии! Ах, Мисс Кэрри, масштаб вашего воображения иногда лишает меня дара речи, и я превращаюсь в молчаливое существо со слезами на глазах. Когда Имриэль оказывается вынужден отправиться за Сидони в далёкие земли, чтобы вновь завоевать её сердце под личиной совершенно другого мужчины, чтобы освободить её от магического заклятия, это превратило последнюю книгу трилогии во что-то совершенно эпичное. Жутко рекомендую, превосходная книга!



Death Masks by Jim Butcher (The Dresden Files #5)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

Harry Dresden, Chicago's only practicing professional wizard, should be happy that business is pretty good for a change. But now he's getting more than he bargained for:

A duel with the Red Court of Vampires' champion, who must kill Harry to end the war between vampires and wizards...

Professional hit men using Harry for target practice...

The missing Shroud of Turin...

A handless and headless corpse the Chicago police need identified...

Not to mention the return of Harry's ex-girlfriend Susan, who's still struggling with her semi-vampiric nature. And who seems to have a new man in her life.

Some days, it just doesn't pay to get out of bed. No matter how much you're charging.

Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
9/10
One of the stronger books in this series in my opinion. I really enjoyed having Susan back, and that love scene was gorgeous and heartbreaking. Of course, Death Masks also introduces us to one of my favourite villains, Nicodimus.*shivers* Fabulous, read it!
* * *
Одна из более сильных книг серии. Я была очень рада возвращению Сюзан, и её любовная сцена с Гарри была очень красивой и просто душераздирающей. К тому же, Маски Смерти познакомила нас с одним из лучших злодеев серии, Никодимусом. *поёживается* Читайте, превосходно написано!




My Beautiful Enemy by Sherry Thomas (The Heart of Blade Duology #2)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
In this spellbinding romance by the acclaimed author of The Luckiest Lady in London, a beautiful and cunning woman meets her match in a man just as dangerous and seductive as she is, putting both her heart and her future at risk…

Hidden beneath Catherine Blade’s uncommon beauty is a daring that matches any man’s. Although this has taken her far in the world, she still doesn’t have the one thing she craves: the freedom to live life as she chooses. Finally given the chance to earn her independence, who should be standing in her way but the only man she’s ever loved, the only person to ever betray her.

Despite the scars Catherine left him, Captain Leighton Atwood has never been able to forget the mysterious girl who once so thoroughly captivated him. When she unexpectedly reappears in his life, he refuses to get close to her. But he cannot deny the yearning she reignites in his heart.

Their reunion, however, plunges them into a web of espionage, treachery, and deadly foes. With everything at stake, Leighton and Catherine are forced to work together to find a way out. If they are ever to find safety and happiness, they must first forgive and learn to trust each other again…

 Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
9/10
O_o! Atwood and Ying-Ying are back, and they are all grown up and very dangerous! Such a delicious story, full of spies, political intrigues and serious heartbreak. Reminded me a bit of Mr and Mrs. Smith, the main characters are so capable and confident. Throughout the story which involves quite a few years and couple of continents it's Atwood who is more vulnerable and desperate to find his love, and Catherine who is reticent and stoic. Really, really loved it, and recommend it to almost anyone but the most cynical reader.
* * *
Атвуд и Йинь-Йинь возвращаются, позвзрослевшие и очень опасные! Такая восхитительная история, полная шпионов, героев, политических интриг и разбитых сердец. Напоминает мне немного  Мистера и Миссис Смит, главные герои настолько компетентны и уверены в своих силах. На протяжение всей истории, которая охватывает довольно много лет и пару континентов, именно  Атвуд более раним и отчаянно пытается найти свою любимую, и Кэтрин наоборот - суровый стоик. Очень, очень понравилось, рекомендую любому читателю, кроме может быть закоренелых циников.

Dystopian YA Review: World After by Susan Ee

World After by Susan Ee (Penryn & The End of Days #2)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what's left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn's sister Paige, thinking she's a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels' secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can't rejoin the angels, can't take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?

 Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

9.5/10

* * *
 This was definitely one of my top reads of last year, and I'm deeply sorry I haven't had time to review it until now. Guys, this is pure adrenaline rush! So much non-stop action, tension and drama, I was on the edge of my seat throughout the whole book.

Fantasy Romance Review: The Mark of The Tala by Jeffe Kennedy

The Mark of The Tala by Jeffe Kennedy (The Twelve Kingdoms #1)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads


Queen Of The Unknown

The tales tell of three sisters, daughters of the high king. The eldest, a valiant warrior-woman, heir to the kingdom. The youngest, the sweet beauty with her Prince Charming. No one says much about the middle princess, Andromeda. Andi, the other one.

Andi doesn't mind being invisible. She enjoys the company of her horse more than court, and she has a way of blending into the shadows. Until the day she meets a strange man riding, who keeps company with wolves and ravens, who rules a land of shapeshifters and demons. A country she'd thought was no more than legend--until he claims her as its queen.

In a moment everything changes: Her father, the wise king, becomes a warlord, suspicious and strategic. Whispers call her dead mother a traitor and a witch. Andi doesn't know if her own instincts can be trusted, as visions appear to her and her body begins to rebel.

For Andi, the time to learn her true nature has come. . .

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10

* * *

 This was a quirky dark fantasy, and I found it quite enjoyable. Thank you, Grace Draven, for the recommend!

The Postman Knock #119

Hello, everyone!
Happy Orthodox Easter to those who celebrate it! Rainy week here, so I could do something for the blog at last, and read a bit more. I also painted another door :)

Scandinavian folk art again.

How have you been?

READ/LISTENED TO:


THE LONG WEEKEND was a very nice weekend read, and I enjoyed its atmosphere. LORD OF THE WHITE HELL was yummy. Reminded me of Sherry Thomas's YA Fantasy series and Vampire Knight anime series. Reading book two right now...

BOUGHT:

First book was a daily deal on Audible, and the second one I am enjoying right now.

This is it for me, peeps.
Don't forget there is an international giveaway going for Deception by D.B. Reynolds, whom I really really love. Go and enter!
Tchau xxx

Friday Mini Reviews #39: Elizabeth Moss, Jacqueline Carey & Jim Butcher



Wolf Bride by Elizabeth Moss (Lust in The Tudor Court #1)

Egalley thanks to Sourcebooks Casablanca

Synopsis from Goodreads
England, 1536. Lord Wolf, hardened soldier and expert lover, has come to King Henry VIII's court to claim his new bride: a girl who has intrigued him since he first saw her riding across the Yorkshire moors. Eloise Tyrell, now lady-in-waiting to Queen Anne Boleyn, has other ideas. She has no desire to submit to a man she barely knows and who - though she is loath to admit it - frightens her not a little. Then comes that first kiss. It awakens in both a fierce desire that bares them to the soul. But as the court erupts into scandal around the ill-fated Queen, Eloise sees first-hand what happens when powerful men tire of their wives. Dare she surrender her body and her heart?

Release date: May 5th 2015.
Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

3/10

To be honest, what started promising, went downhill really fast. Too much unnecessary angst, anachronistic for the historical era, unconvincing main characters and the mention of FSoG on the cover will only harm this book in comparison. They have nothing in common. Unfortunately, not recommended.
* * *
Если честно, то что, началось обещающе, скатилось в полное ничтожество довольно быстро. Неловко написано, нехарактерно для исторической эры и с отталкивающими главными героями. Сравнение  с Пятидесятью Оттенками Серого тоже этой книге не помогает, так как между Мосс и Джеймс нет ничего общего. В общем, не советую.

Kushiel's Justice by Jacqueline Carey (Impriel's Trilogy #2)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

This heroic fantasy novel continues the trilogy begun in Kushiel's Scion, extending Jacqueline Carey's grand Kushiel series to five volumes. At the onset, protagonist Imriel de la Courcel is caught between duty and desire. His passion for his beautiful cousin Sidonie has propelled him into a dangerous affair with her, but he knows that as the prince of Terre d'Ange, he is bound to wed princess Dorelei of Alba. With a sorrowful heart, he journeys with his new mate to her homeland. But danger, not solace, awaits him there: Political intrigue makes him a target. In a savage attack, he loses not only his wife, but only his infant heir. As the scion of Kushiel, he must seek revenge. A distinctive authorial voice.
Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
8.5/10

This series continues to be amazing! Imriel who is secretly in love with Sidonie, marries a princess of Alba and loses her due to a terrible prophecy. Now he needs to travel to faraway lands of Wralia (prototype of Russian Empire) to avenge his wife and come back to his beloved. This book is tragic, epic and philosophical. I absolutely loved listening to it on audio, and since then bought and read the rest of the series as audiobooks as well. Hugely recommended.
* * *
Просто завораживающая серия! Имриэль, который тайно влюблён в Сидони, вынужден жениться на принцессе из Альбы, но когда трагическое пророчество стоит той жизни, он пускается по следам ее убийцы, и после многих перепетий вершит правосудие над ним в заснеженной Вралии (прототипе Руси). Книга эта трагичная, эпичная и философская. Я безумно наслаждалась голосом Саймона Вэнса в аудиокниге, и уже купила и прослушала книги остальные. Очень советую.


Summer Knight by Jim Butcher (The Dresden Files #4)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
HARRY DRESDEN -- WIZARD

Lost items found. Paranormal Investigations. Consulting. Advice. Reasonable Rates.
No Love Potions, Endless Purses, or Other Entertainment

Ever since his girlfriend left town to deal with her newly acquired taste for blood, Harry Dresden has been down and out in Chicago. He can't pay his rent. He's alienating his friends. He can't even recall the last time he took a shower.

The only professional wizard in the phone book has become a desperate man.

And just when it seems things can't get any worse, in saunters the Winter Queen of Faerie. She has an offer Harry can't refuse if he wants to free himself of the supernatural hold his faerie godmother has over him--and hopefully end his run of bad luck. All he has to do is find out who murdered the Summer Queen's right-hand man, the Summer Knight, and clear the Winter Queen's name.

It seems simple enough, but Harry knows better than to get caught in the middle of faerie politics. Until he finds out that the fate of the entire world rests on his solving this case. No pressure or anything...
 
 Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
8.5/10

 James Marsters continues to astonish me with his sexy, sarcastic as hell, voice over of Harry Dresden. Listening to this book was like eating my favorite candy, - I couldn't get enough. Even if previous book struck me as more dramatic, stronger installment, I still enjoyed the heck out of this one. Off to the next one. Another fabulous audiobook!
* * *
Джеймс Марстерс продолжает ошеломлять меня своим завораживающим голосом и саркастичной передачей характера Гарри Дрездена. Насколько я не хотела читать эту серию, настолько аудиокниги с его подачи пошли у меня на ура. Рыцарь Лета хоть и не настолько сильная книга серии как книга предыдущая, однако мне очень понравилась. Читайте или слушайте, - это прекрасно!

An Interview with D.B. Reynolds Plus an International Giveaway of Deception!

David Gandy who would have been a perfect impersonation of Raphael
Hi, Donna! And thank you very much for stopping by. First of all, for those of the readers unfamiliar with your Vampires in America, how would you describe your series in one sentence?

Thanks for having me, Karina. I'm excited about sharing Deception with readers. My series in one sentence ...

Eight of the most powerful vampires on earth--violent, bloody and aggressive--rule all of North America with their beautiful and kickass mates fighting by their sides.

And what kind of reader would enjoy your books?

Anyone who believes sex and romance can only add to a story, who enjoys a dose of suspense and intrigue along the way, and who loves gorgeous vampires who revel in the power and seduction of their vampire blood. There are no self-hating vampires here.

Raphael and Cyn are my absolute favourite couple in this series, and Deception brought them back to us (yay!). What made you come back to them as main characters so far along in the series? 

I wanted something fresh for the series. All through the first eight books, Raphael has been gathering allies and manipulating events to make sure he has people he can work with and trust. The next logical step was to present a challenge that tested their historic alliance and forced them to work together, which is the European invasion. Naturally, the Europeans started by trying to eliminate Raphael, since he's the greatest threat to their success, and so the first book of the new story arc was Cyn and Raphael. In subsequent books, we'll meet new characters, but we'll also revisit the other vampire lords and their mates. This is fun for me, and I hope for my readers, since we get to see how they're getting along after that first, hot rush of love.

I feel like Deception is a game changer for the series. Can you give us a hint what's coming next for Vampires In America?

It's definitely a new direction for the series. In the next several books, we'll visit all of the North American Vampire Lords as they fight off challenges to their territories, some of the challenges will be outright wars, while others will try subterfuge and killing from the shadows. I've mapped out the territories and who will back up whom, just as Lucas does for Raphael in Deception, along with a general sense of story, but I don't have the details on all of them yet. The next book is set, however, since I'm writing it now. It's called Alliance, and will introduce a new and powerful Vampire Lord for the South.

At last, what is your absolute favourite book or couple you yourself have ever written and why?

This is so difficult, because I love all of my vampires and their mates. But I'd have to say that as a couple, it's Raphael and Cyn, because I'm a romantic at heart, and I love the way they love each other

Thank you so much for answering my questions, Donna! I am looking forward to the next book in the series already!




D. B. Reynolds is the RT Award-Winning author of the popular Vampires in America series of Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy and an Emmy-nominated television sound editor. She lives with her husband of many years in a flammable canyon near Los Angeles, and when she’s not writing her own books, she can usually be found reading someone else’s.

Find D.B. Reynolds:





Kauai, Hawaii—tropical paradise, vibrant jungle, turquoise sea... and sensuous nights that hide vampires so powerful they can change the world.

Raphael—powerful, extraordinary, arrogant. He’s been eliminating rivals and gathering allies, determined not just to survive, but to demolish the Europeans who think they can steal what he’s worked for centuries to create. In a final bid to avert a war that seems inevitable, Raphael agrees to meet an enemy he knows of old. She is formidable, wily, and not to be trusted. But in his arrogance, Raphael believes he can foil whatever treachery she has brewing.

Cynthia Leighton—Raphael’s human mate, beautiful, smart, and deadly when threatened. She doesn’t trust anyone, much less a powerful vampire claiming to want peace. So while Raphael prepares to negotiate a treaty, Cyn is preparing for the inevitable double-cross that she knows is coming. Raphael worries about saving thousands of vampire lives. She only cares about one, and she will do anything to keep him alive and in her arms.

When Cyn is proven right, when it all falls apart and Raphael’s enemies draw on ancient magic to trap him, taking him away from Cyn and out of the war, it all falls to her—to find Raphael, to save the thousands of vampires who will die if she doesn’t succeed... and to kill every single being, human or vampire, who gets in her way.



GIVEAWAY!

Donna generously agreed to give away a print or ecopy of Deception to ONE lucky winner. Open to all and ends April 15th at 12am.

Good Luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Contemporary NA Romance Early Review: Elements of Chemistry: Attraction by Penny Reid

Elements of Chemistry: Attraction by Penny Reid (Hypothesis #0.25)


Ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
Elements of Chemistry, part 1
One week.
Private beach.
Invisible girl.
Jerk-faced bully.
What’s the worst that could happen?
Kaitlyn Parker has no problem being the invisible girl, which is why she finds herself hiding in various cabinets and closets all over her college campus. Despite her best efforts, she can’t escape the notice of Martin Sandeke—bad boy, jerkface bully, and the universe’s hottest, wealthiest, and most unobtainable bachelor—who also happens to be Kaitlyn’s chemistry lab partner.
Kaitlyn might be the only girl who isn’t interested in exploiting his stunning rower’s build, chiseled features, and family's billionaire fortune. Kaitlyn wants Martin for his brain, specifically to tabulate findings of trace elements in surface water.
When Kaitlyn saves Martin from a nefarious plot, Martin uses the opportunity to push Kaitlyn out of her comfort zone: spring break, one week, house parties, bathing suits, and suntan lotion. Can she overcome her aversion to being noticed? Will he be able grow beyond his self-centered nature? Or, despite their obvious chemistry, will Martin be the one to drive Kaitlyn into the science cabinet of obscurity for good?


Release date: April 8th 2015

 Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

Elements of Chemistry is perhaps Penny's geekiest romance, and I'm loving every moment of it.

She split this book into three parts, and it makes me glad that I can prolong the pleasure of reading it for a bit longer than usual.

The Postman Knock #118


Hello and Happy Easter, everyone! I haven't had much to post bookwise last week, so I skipped the post on Sunday, however this week was awesome. First of all, we've got a dog! Mishka was lost or abandoned, and my friend picked her up from the street knowing that we've been looking for a dog for some time. She is a very young pup and absolutely adorbs.

And of course I spent all day yesterday making my Orthodox Easter cakes even if in Russian calendar it's celebrated a week later. Oh well. First time I made something so complicated in a bread oven, and it wasn't half bad. I also used natural dye for the eggs. Pretty, aren't they?


READ/LISTENED:


I've already said why CAPTIVE PRINCE & PRINCE'S GAMBIT were mind blowing read here. WHITE NIGHT & SMALL FAVOUR proved again that Harry Dresden rocks on audio, and WOLF BRIDE started promising, and ended up being a very disappointing read. Oh well...


 FOR REVIEW:


BOUGHT:


This is it for me, hope you have a wonderful weekend! Hugs xxx
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger