If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


February New Book Releases I'm Dying to Read!

I am reading The Line right now, but I haven't tried anything else. I'm especially curious about Landry Park
How about you, peeps?

Historical Fiction Review: Letters from a Murderer by John Matthews

Letters from a Murderer by John Matthews (Finley Jameson & Joseph Argenti #1)


Egalley thanks to Exhibit A

Synopsis from Goodreads
New York, 1891: a rapidly changing city, torn between lamplight and electric light, where the burgeoning steel and railway industries attract a flood of humanity from every corner of the globe, fuelling cut-throat gangs, corruption and vice.

A prostitute is found brutally murdered. Immediately fear starts to spread. The victim bears the same hallmarks as Jack the Ripper's recent killing spree in England. Could it be that the Ripper has crossed the Atlantic to fresh killing grounds? Or is this simply a copycat murder?

To solve the case, one of the original English Ripper pathologists, Finley Jameson, is teamed up with Joseph Argenti, one of the new 'untouchable' detectives, hand-picked by a New York Mayor eager to fight corruption.

But Michael Tierney, the city's leading gangster, has his own ideas about how the city should be run. And as the body-count rises, and Jameson & Argenti are taunted by the killer in open letters, they find themselves fighting not just to save the next victim, but for the city's very soul.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US(FREE!)/UK(FREE!) | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

7/10

* * *
What if famous Jack The Ripper got tired of London and moved to a fresher start in New York? With that concept I was hooked. 

This is a pretty good historical fiction, systematic, meticulous and... slightly boring. I found it interesting but more from the scientific point of view. 

Paranomal YA Early Review: Autumn Rose by Abigail Gibbs

Autumn Rose by Abigail Gibbs (The Dark Heroine #2)


Egalley courtesy of Harper Voyager

Synopsis from Goodreads
The highly anticipated sequel to Dinner with a Vampire

Autumn Rose has the chance to save the world she loves. But how much will she have to sacrifice to achieve it?

In Autumn Rose, book two of her breathtaking series, Abigail Gibbs draws us even further into the dangerous and romantic world of the Dark Heroines.


Release Date: January 30th 2014.
 
 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK(£1.99) | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

 4/10

* * *
What a mess! *sighs* I am wretchedly frustrated right now, peeps, considering how much I loved The Dark Heroine. It took me weeks to get through Autumn Rose, and I had to push myself all the way through.

The Postman Knock #63

Awesome week, peeps! Sun is shining, it's +17C around here, and I've made an orange marmalade from our own oranges. Yum!


READ:


You'll see my review of AUTUMN ROSE on Monday, where I'll explain why it didn't live up to my expectations. LOVE HACKED on the other hand was marvelous! I love Penny! :) LETTERS FROM A MURDERER made for an interesting but slightly boring historical fiction. TEMPT THE STARS was an underwhelming read again, which I'll talk about in my review soon. DEADSHIFTED was awesome, simply awesome! Read it! At last, LINEAGE wasn't my favorite book of the series, but I still enjoyed Zara in it.

FOR REVIEW:


Thank you, Penny, Oliver at Bookouture & Susan!

NETGALLEY:

This  one has been on my wishlist. Thanks, Carina Press!

This is it for me, peeps. Here is Third Daughter inspired Indian music , enjoy!
Happy Sunday!



Erotic Romance Review: Bonds of Love by Sarah K

Bonds of Love by Sarah K


Egalley thanks to HarperCollins

Synopsis from Goodreads
If you loved Fifty Shades of Grey¸ you’ll LUST after this true story of dominance, submission, lust and temptation.

Sarah K is like any normal woman. She lives in a quiet suburban town. She has a couple of kids; a steady job as a writer. But behind the bedroom door she enters a different world – a world sexual power play and erotic control. For Sarah K is a submissive, and she willingly surrenders her body to the passions of a dominant lover.

Still reeling after ending things with her first dom, Max, Sarah finds herself unable to move on. As Max had warned, once you’ve tasted the forbidden fruits of dominance and submission, you can’t go back. So when Sarah meets Alex – a tall, handsome man who shares her erotic desires – she finds herself cast under the dark spell of pleasure and pain once more.

As they explore one another, like an addiction, Sarah begins to crave Alex – his touch, his breath, his smell. Shocked at the emotions he has awakened within her, Sarah tells herself this is just lust. She had learnt the hard way that falling in love is one line that can’t be crossed.

So why does it feel so wrong when Max re-enters her life, determined to possess her once more? Should she admit her true feelings for Alex, and potentially expose herself to the worst pain of all – heartbreak?
 

Hotter than fiction, this intoxicating and explosive true story will set your pulse racing as Sarah K strips away the mask to reveal what it’s really like to be a sexual submissive.
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
I remember reading the first book The Secret Life of a Submissive last year and enjoying the heck out of it. Bonds of Love was just as awesome. "Why?" you'd ask.

Historical Romance Review: The Countess Conspiracy by Courtney Milan

The Countess Conspiracy by Courtney Milan (Brothers Sinister #3)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Sebastian Malheur is the most dangerous sort of rake: an educated one. When he’s not scandalizing ladies in the bedchamber, he’s outraging proper society with his scientific theories. He’s desired, reviled, acclaimed, and despised—and he laughs through it all.

Violet Waterfield, the widowed Countess of Cambury, on the other hand, is entirely respectable, and she’d like to stay that way. But Violet has a secret that is beyond ruinous, one that ties her irrevocably to England’s most infamous scoundrel: Sebastian’s theories aren’t his. They’re hers.

So when Sebastian threatens to dissolve their years-long conspiracy, she’ll do anything to save their partnership...even if it means opening her vulnerable heart to the rake who could destroy it for good.


Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK(£1.99) | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
I've been waiting for Violet and Sebastian's story for a long time, and at last Miss Milan delivered! I can honestly say that the dynamics in this book's relationship surprised me.

New Adult Novel Early Review: Deeper by Robin York

Deeper by Robin York (Caroline & West #1)


Egalley thanks to  Bantam

Synopsis from Goodreads
When Caroline Piasecki’s ex-boyfriend posts their sex pictures on the Internet, it destroys her reputation as a nice college girl. Suddenly her once-promising future doesn’t look so bright. Caroline tries to make the pictures disappear, hoping time will bury her shame. Then a guy she barely knows rises to her defense and punches her ex to the ground.

West Leavitt is the last person Caroline needs in her life. Everyone knows he’s shady. Still, Caroline is drawn to his confidence and swagger—even after promising her dad she’ll keep her distance. On late, sleepless nights, Caroline starts wandering into the bakery where West works.

They hang out, they talk, they listen. Though Caroline and West tell each other they’re “just friends,” their feelings intensify until it becomes impossible to pretend. The more complicated her relationship with West gets, the harder Caroline has to struggle to discover what she wants for herself—and the easier it becomes to find the courage she needs to fight back against the people who would judge her.

When all seems lost, sometimes the only place to go is deeper.


Release date: January 28th 2014.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

9/10

* * *
What a fantastic read! 

I've been very selective, you can even say "cautious" about New Adult genre, and so far it's paid off. I have been incredibly lucky discovering such authors like Tammara Webber, Jen Frederick, Rebecca Harrington and Lauren Miller.

I think I can safely add Ruthie Knox aka Robin York to this list.

The Postman Knock #62





A wonderful and a very productive week for me, peeps.
The chickens started laying! We now have 3-4 delicious eggs per day. Uber cool!
Plus it's sunny again and we are getting ready to start planting.
So excited!
How about you? How was your week?

READ:

RONI LOREN is officially awesome, ladies and gents! I've read everything she's written and I crave more. This is a bit like Masters of The Shadowlands by Cherise Sinclair, but better. TEMPERED I already reviewed and I honestly couldn't ask for more, fantastic instalment of the series.  THE ROSIE PROJECT was a treat. A lovely, funny and a bit sad contemporary romance. Joy, you were right! Al last, DARK DESIGNS had some yummy manga interactions and clothes that made me drool.

NETGALLEY/EDELWEISS:

I've discovered Sarah K last year and really enjoyed her no-nonsense approach towards BDSM as a British erotica author. Looking forward to the rest of her adventures.

FOR REVIEW:

Oooh, what a treat! Thank you, Jen! :)

This is it. Hope the new comment system works and I at last can reply to you all properly :) Thanks to Victoria for kicking my ass into gear!
Happy Sunday!

Friday Mini-Reviews #18: Courtney Milan, Madelynne Ellis and J.L. Merrow


A Kiss for Midwinter by Courtney Milan (Brothers Sinister #1.5)

kindle freebie

Synopsis from Goodreads
Miss Lydia Charingford is always cheerful, and never more so than at Christmas time. But no matter how hard she smiles, she can't forget the youthful mistake that could have ruined her reputation. Even though the worst of her indiscretion was kept secret, one other person knows the truth of those dark days: the sarcastic Doctor Jonas Grantham. She wants nothing to do with him...or the butterflies that take flight in her stomach every time he looks her way.

Jonas Grantham has a secret, too: He's been in love with Lydia for more than a year. This winter, he's determined to conquer her dislike and win her for his own. It all starts with a wager and a kiss...

A Kiss for Midwinter is a novella (38,000 words) in the Brothers Sinister series. It follows The Duchess War. Each book stands on its own, but those who prefer to read in order might want to read that book first.
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US($0.99)/UK(£0.49)
8.5/10
 Lovely little novella, and very, very raw and sincere as always with Courtney's writing. The bonus here is that it's very romantic and would be a perfect Christmas or Valentine's read. Jonas is an amazing hero who is skillfully and patiently coaxing Lydia from her shell. I especially loved his quirky father. A must read for any fan of the series.
* * *
Ну как я могу пройти мимо очередной Куртни Милан, несмотря на то, что это малюсенькая новелла? А никак. Как обычно, пронзительно, искренне и просто прекрасно написано. Замечательная история на Рождество или День Святого Валентина. Джонас - харизматичный, добрый и порядочный герой, настоящий джентельмен, который терпеливо ухаживает за Лидией и залечивает её душевные раны. Очень рекомендую любому фанату этой серии.

Her Husband's Lover by Madelynne Ellis (Georgian Rakehells #5)

kindle freebie

Synopsis from Goodreads

Darleston was beautiful. Not in a dandified fashionable sort of way, but in a beastly way… Any woman with a modicum of sense would be a fool to fall for him.

Emma Langley abhors physical contact, consequential she’s shocked when she realizes she’s attracted to one of her father’s guests. Robert, Lord Darleston is like no other man she’s ever met. He’s flamboyant, charming and terrifies her as much as he arouses her. Nor is Emma the only person caught under his spell…

Lord Robert Darleston has a reputation as a rakehell and a voluptuary. When his wife’s scheming drives him from London into the heart of the English countryside, he is unexpectedly reunited with his first lover, Lyle Langley. Torn apart by the intervention of their families nine years earlier, the primary barrier to their reunion is now Emma, Lyle’s wife, a woman Darleston is fascinated by and has no wish to disrespect. All seems hopeless, that is, until Lyle admits that Emma is frigid and their marriage unconsummated.

Darleston proposes a plan… If he can win Emma over, then maybe they can find happiness together. Old ghosts, a jealous wife, and an outraged father stand in his way.
Amazon kindle US/UK(£0.49)
8/10
 This is my third book by Madelynne Ellis, and so far I'm really impressed with her writing. She writes lovely, likeable characters and she does her research. She is also a British erotic romance writer, which is particularly appealing to me. I've enjoyed the sassiness of this book, and the M/F/M interactions were pretty hot. Recommended. It was a freebie on Amazon(not anymore) which you can grab along with Anything But Vanilla (another freebie)!
* * *
Это уже моя третья книга Маделинн Эллис, и далеко не последняя. Умно, мило и по-доброму. Очаровательные главные герои, прекрасно выписанный секс, и британский автор, то есть одни плюсы в моей книге. Рекомендую.

Muscling Through by J.L. Merrow

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

The bigger they come, the harder they fall... in love.

Cambridge art professor Larry Morton takes one, alcohol-glazed look at the huge, tattooed man looming in a dark alley, and assumes he’s done for. Moments later he finds himself disarmed—literally and figuratively. And, the next morning, he can’t rest until he offers an apology to the man who turned out to be more gentle than giant.

Larry's intrigued to find there's more to Al Fletcher than meets the eye; he possesses a natural artistic talent that shines through untutored technique. Unfortunately, no one else seems to see the sensitive soul beneath Al’s imposing, scarred, undeniably sexy exterior. Least of all Larry's class-conscious family, who would like nothing better than to split up this mismatched pair.

Is it physical? Oh, yes, it’s deliciously physical, and so much more—which makes Larry’s next task so daunting. Not just convincing his colleagues, friends and family that their relationship is more than skin deep. It’s convincing Al.

Contains comic misunderstandings, misuse of art materials, and unexpected poignancy.

Amazon kindle US/UK(£1.54)
7.5/10

 What this synopsis doesn't say is that the story is told from Al's point of view, not Larry's. And Al is a bit simple. He is childishly direct and very, very likeable. I don't read M/M romance as a rule, but this book made a splash throughout the blogosphere in a very good way when it came out, and it's definitely a very sweet contemporary romance. Recommended.
* * *
Я не читаю М/М романы как правило, но я хорошо помню, что когда эта книга вышла, она наделала шума в романтических блогах, и совершенно не зря.  История Ларри и Ала написана от лица Ала, и он немного простоват. По-ребячески прямолинеен и очень добр, несмотря на свою внешность громилы. И именно его простая натура постоянно ставит и Ларри и окружающих его людей на место. Иногда смешно, иногда мило. Мне понравилось.

Urban Fantasy Review: Blood Trade by Faith Hunter

Blood Trade by Faith Hunter (Jane Yellowrock #6)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Jane Yellowrock is a shape-shifting skinwalker who’s always up for a fight—even if it means putting her life on the line...

The Master of Natchez, Mississippi has a nasty problem on his hands. Rogue vampires—those who follow the Naturaleza and believe that humans should be nothing more than prey to be hunted—are terrorizing his city. Luckily, he knows the perfect skinwalker to call in to take back the streets.

But what he doesn’t tell Jane is that there’s something different about these vamps. Something that makes them harder to kill—even for a pro like Jane. Now, her simple job has turned into a fight to stay alive…and to protect the desperately ill child left in her care.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

5/10

* * *
Don't get me wrong. The book itself wasn't bad, it's the direction or lack of it for the whole series that I'm having issues with.

Steampunk Novel Early Review: Tempered by Karina Cooper

Tempered by Karina Cooper  (The St. Croix Chronicles #4)


Egalley courtesy of Carina Press

Synopsis from Goodreads

Book Four of The St. Croix Chronicles
Forced out of London's coal-blackened streets, Cherry St. Croix is faced with her most difficult undertaking yet: sobriety.
At long last, my guardian, the enigmatic Mr. Oliver Ashmore, has revealed himself-and his order is clear: I am to be dried out at once, regardless of my wishes.
I loathe the country estate I am imprisoned within. Footsteps follow me, voices call for me, and my sanity wavers. In my fevered dreams, I am haunted by those I failed, while waking proves no protection from the ghosts of my reckless past. The craving for laudanum plagues me. I require a distraction.
To unravel the alchemical mysteries of my mother's family, I must rely on Ashmore's tutelage. I am lured to the art and drawn by the secrets my guardian possesses. Yet the deeper I delve, the more I believe that something dreadful disturbs these haunted corridors. In my madness, I fear that what it wants most...is me.
Date of publication: February 10th 2014.
Amazon kindle US($3.03)/UK(£2.39)

8.5/10

* * *
This is a very different books from the rest of the series, like a quiet before the storm, and I have to say, that it surprised and delighted me at the same time.




The Postman Knock #61

Another really wet week. The amount of rain is astounding, but we should have sunny, dry weather in the next 7 days, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

I've done some great reading this week. How about you?

READ:


I've started with this novella as a kindle freebie and ended up buying the other 7 parts of the serial. Very yummy, sexy and well-written. I've never read Roni Loren before, but I sure as hell will read more of her books!

BOUGHT:

All 8 novellas of Not Until You serial and all 4 books of Loving on The Edge series. I'm really digging Roni Loren.
Huge thanks to my mother-in-law for my birthday Amazon giftcard which I received in the post this week! :) All these books courtesy of the gift card.

NETGALLEY/EDELWEISS:

Oh god! I adore both authors and their tough heroines, and I don't quite know where to start, but I'm really excited! *grinning*

FOR REVIEW:



This is it. What did you get this week?
Happy Sunday!

Erotic Romance 8 Parts Serial Review: Not Until You by Roni Loren

Not Until You Serial by Roni Loren


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

On the night of her graduation, innocent veterinary student Cela decides to play a game of ‘Never Have I Ever’ with the two hot neighbours she’s been harbouring a secret crush on. Cela thinks she’s earned a wild night before she has to move back home under the watchful gaze of her family. But what starts out as a simple game is about to take a very sensual turn.
Ian Foster is tired of playing games. With his membership to The Ranch, an exclusive BDSM resort, Foster has a life most guys would kill for. But lately, his need for dominance is no longer satisfied via one-night stands. He craves the full surrender of a woman – a submissive of his own.
But when his quiet, sweet-as-sugar neighbour shows up at their door with a bottle of tequila and an invitation, Foster decides he and Pike may have time for one more fling…
Amazon kindle US($1.99)/UK(FREE)

                                              8.5/10


                                                                         * * *

 Phew, this was hot! Lovely, sexy and emotional.

I've never read Roni Loren before and picked up the first part of the serial for free on Amazon UK. Well, by the end of it I was totally hooked and had to buy the rest.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger